Scrumptious Chicken Vegetable Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
I was reluctant to try the micro cooking. It seems like cheating. But my wife was hungry, so we tried it. It worked great! Used a lot of different ingredients - potatoes, carrots, parsnips, kale, and leek, plus the chicken and can of tomatoes, and only 2 garlic cloves - but the cooking process was so easy. Took 30 minutes with all the stuff I had. Will remember this one for the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Douthett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Fabulous flavors in this dish. I made this is a slow cooker for 4 hours. I added a lot more broth, about triple the chicken broth to make it more soupy. The lentils absorbed a lot of the broth. I put the fresh spinach in about 2 hours into the cooking. Then I shredded the chicken when it was done. We serve it over rice. A great recipe for filling folks up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Quite good though it did not cook evenly in the microwave. The lentils were not done nor was the chicken after 25 minutes. We will do this over the stove next time. Halved the Italian seasoning (gives me heartburn) and used chicken thighs. Would like to try middle eastern spices next time - cumin and other things. But, healthy, quick and hearty. Can't complain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Delicious, easy, and healthy. Appreciated the review suggestions. Needs a bit more liquid than recipe has, so I pre-cooked the lentils in 1 cup+ broth until dry. For my preferences, I browned the chicken (with a bit of garam marsala) -- and added it for the last 10 minutes. I added browned onions and chopped cauliflower (any veggies likely would work.). I added a few chopped mushrooms for last 10 minutes. I left out fennel. The garlic makes the dish, so don't skimp. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
This was pretty good. It didn't say whether to shred the chicken, so I just cut 1-inch-wide strips to help it cook faster. I followed another reviewer's instructions and used about 3 cups of liquid (2 broth, 1 water) and cooked all but the carrots and spinach for about 1 hour, then added the carrots and spinach for about 15 minutes. Well, the carrots weren't cooked, but I had run out of time. It had a nice flavor and the leftovers ended up more stew-like, which I think I liked better. The lentils (I used yellow) made it a filling meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Basically a great recipe with great taste but I did change a couple things. I used ground chicken, a can of chick peas, used more broth and left out the fennel. I also cooked this on the stove top. Very tasty and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
This was delicious! I used real fennel and omitted the lentils. I baked it in the oven at 375 for 45 min. Then I made some couscous and put the stew on top. super easy and can use whatever veggies/grains have on hand. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
I found the recipe quite bland. I did like the mixture of chicken, spinach, and lentils and will use in another dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
I love this recipe. I've made it multiple times and it's so good. I modified it this time by adding Rotell instead of the tomatos, simply because I didn't have tomatos and omited the Italian seasoning. It gave it a nice little zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Great flavor! I did make a few changes mostly in the preparation. I left out the fennel because I didn't have any and it was delicious without it. I also cooked it on the stove-top, not the microwave. I used 3 1/2 c. chicken broth (2 1/2 c. to start and then added 1 c. with the carrots and spinach toward the end.) I put the chicken, diced tomatoes, lentils, 2 1/2 c. chicken broth, garlic, herbs, salt and pepper in a large pot and cooked it for about an hour. Then added 1 c. water with the carrots and spinach and cooked for another 15 mins. or so, until the carrots were tender. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States