Scrumptious Beef and Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
I have made this several times and it is always a hit with the family. I use ground meat and omit the cereal topping. I also cook the sliced potatoes a little bit in the microwave to cut down on cooking time. This is great comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbie Hyatt McAfee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rison, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2001
Delicious! I used corn flakes because I didn't have any wheat flakes and it was very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2004
very good dish, my mother in law makes it all the time. Can substitute ground beef for the stew meat and omit the shortening
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2004
Yummy, Yummy, Yummy! This was a great recipe. I took the advise of some people and did not include the wheat flakes. I also cubed my potatoes in smaller sizes and my food was ready in an hour. My husband loo….ooo…ved it! I will definitely be making it again this week and this time I will use ground beef. It smells good too and tastes really good the next day. This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2005
I LOVE this recipe. My husband really enjoyed the dish when I made it. I didn't have onions, I only have 1.25 lb of meat and 3 small potatoes, muenster cheese and rice chex instead of corn flakes, yet the dish turned out REALLY GOOD! Substituted olive oil for the shortening and added some garlic. This recipe is absolutely a keeper! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 25, 2006
My husband says I'm never allowed to make this again.....unless I make 2 pans!!! I followed recipe exactly other then adding garlic. I also used cornflakes for the topping. I ground them very fine and the texture was great, almost like a bread crumb topping but better flavor. This was absolutely wonderful, whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEEKYMAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage La Prairie, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
DELICIOUS!!!!!!!!!! I also added carrots and since I didn't have wheat cereal I crumbled some french fried onions on top. My husband said this recipe was definitly a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alpena, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
This is easy, you can tweak the ingredients if you want,depending on what's available to you at the time. Wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
Have been making this dish for years for my kids and grandkids under the name of Connecticut Beef Supper it's really great I have always used corn flake crumbs as the original recipe calls for but I think any good crumbs would do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monrovia, California, USA
Living In: Running Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
Super easy kid friendly meal. I used lean stew meat to cut down on the fat trimming time and I used the pre-diced hash browns. Turned out grat and was really low fuss and fast prep time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States