Scrumptious Beef and Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2004
very good dish, my mother in law makes it all the time. Can substitute ground beef for the stew meat and omit the shortening
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2004
tastes like a baked potato with all the trimmings and topped with beef...delicious Forget the wheat flake cereal...they bring the confuse the flavor and confuse the texture I felt like I should have used chives instead of the wheat flakes. Overall, I'd call it comfort food that sticks to your ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2005
I LOVE this recipe. My husband really enjoyed the dish when I made it. I didn't have onions, I only have 1.25 lb of meat and 3 small potatoes, muenster cheese and rice chex instead of corn flakes, yet the dish turned out REALLY GOOD! Substituted olive oil for the shortening and added some garlic. This recipe is absolutely a keeper! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 25, 2006
My husband says I'm never allowed to make this again.....unless I make 2 pans!!! I followed recipe exactly other then adding garlic. I also used cornflakes for the topping. I ground them very fine and the texture was great, almost like a bread crumb topping but better flavor. This was absolutely wonderful, whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEEKYMAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage La Prairie, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2001
I rate it as a 5 for the kid friendly rating cuz my husband HATES EVERYTHING AND LOVED THIS!!!! Seriously, he only eats meat and potatoes. This was perfect! I made the potatoes a bit watery (my bad) but other than that, it was great! I am so happy to add a recipie of mine to the very narrow recipie book that I have for him. So many things he absolutely refuses to eat or has me move the vegetables to only my side of the dish-- you women knowthat that is hard to do w/ a LOT of dishes. Thanks, Deb! Heather Austin, TX
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
This is a good recipe. I substituted french fried onions for the topping and I had to cook it a bit longer so the potatoes were done, but my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Amherst, Ohio, USA
Living In: Baumholder, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
Very good recipe, but I made some changes due to what I had available. I used 2 lbs of ground beef (normal cooking method) and added carrots and green beans. Everyone really enjoyed it and we'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
Have been making this dish for years for my kids and grandkids under the name of Connecticut Beef Supper it's really great I have always used corn flake crumbs as the original recipe calls for but I think any good crumbs would do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monrovia, California, USA
Living In: Running Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2001
Delicious! I used corn flakes because I didn't have any wheat flakes and it was very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2001
Really Good way to use tougher cut of steak. My husband is very fussy but he really enjoyed this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Potato, Sausage, & Egg Breakfast Casserole

A cheesy breakfast casserole with hash browns, sausage, and egg.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States