Scrumptious Beef and Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by TiMbOs Mama1
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Great recipe! Kids cleared there plates. I didn't use stew beef I used beef sirloin and corn flakes, which worked perfectly.Followed it exactly after those small changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TiMbOs Mama1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Methuen, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
I used ground beef, added garlic powder, omitted the shortening. Didn't have cornflakes on hand. The sour cream added to the flavor. My husband liked it and said it was a keeper. Will try adding peas next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
This recipe is okay... a little too much of one flavor. I used ground beef and did away with the shortening. I would try it again but with some vegetables or something in the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by icooknaked

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
This was a hit in my household. I did add extra flour as one reviewer had recommended. I used fresh stewing beef and it was very tender. I did also add a bit of fresh garlic. I think this is a very versatile receipe. Next time I will add celery and peas to the mix. Thank you for submitting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
My husband loved this ... I used 1 lb of stew meat and added carrots and peas to make up for the lack of meat. I browned the meat in olive oil, not shortening. I cut the potatoes up in bite size pieces, and found they cooked just fine in the time the recipe calls for. I did not find that it got watery as some other reviewers noted. I topped with corn flakes intead of wheat cereal. Could have used just a bit more flavor, in my opinion. Definite "comfort food" dish. I'm sure we will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
This was really good. I made a few changes to the recipe though. The meat and onions were browned in olive oil as opposed to the shortening. Some of the reviews stated that the original recipe was a little soupy, so I added some flour to the beef/onion mixture to thicken the sauce up some - this worked very well. I also added frozen veggies to the beef/onion mixture. I cut my potatoes up into small pieces and par-boiled them to reduce the baking time. And, I didn't have any wheat cereal or corn flakes so I crumbled Ritz crackers on top and it was SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
This casserole takes a long time to cook; but it's well worth the wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandiswan23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spencer, Indiana, USA
Living In: Linton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
This takes a bit to make, with all the steps, but it is super yummy and makes plenty for my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Cantrell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
This was very bland! Not sure what could be done to increase the flavor. Husband liked it better than I did but I wasn't very fond of it. Probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
This sounded delicious and it might have been but I followed the recipe exactly as it said and after 1-1/2 hr baking time it was so over cooked and dried out everyone hated it. it was a crunchy mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Potato, Sausage, & Egg Breakfast Casserole

A cheesy breakfast casserole with hash browns, sausage, and egg.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States