Scrumptious Beef and Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
I must have done something wrong! my casserole was very runny...I have been cooking for my family for 30 years ..and I get raves about my cooking...so if anyone can tell me what they think could have happened I would appreciate it! or is this suppose to be runny?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TiMbOs Mama1
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Great recipe! Kids cleared there plates. I didn't use stew beef I used beef sirloin and corn flakes, which worked perfectly.Followed it exactly after those small changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TiMbOs Mama1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Methuen, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
I used ground beef, added garlic powder, omitted the shortening. Didn't have cornflakes on hand. The sour cream added to the flavor. My husband liked it and said it was a keeper. Will try adding peas next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
This recipe is okay... a little too much of one flavor. I used ground beef and did away with the shortening. I would try it again but with some vegetables or something in the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by icooknaked

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
This was a hit in my household. I did add extra flour as one reviewer had recommended. I used fresh stewing beef and it was very tender. I did also add a bit of fresh garlic. I think this is a very versatile receipe. Next time I will add celery and peas to the mix. Thank you for submitting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
My husband loved this ... I used 1 lb of stew meat and added carrots and peas to make up for the lack of meat. I browned the meat in olive oil, not shortening. I cut the potatoes up in bite size pieces, and found they cooked just fine in the time the recipe calls for. I did not find that it got watery as some other reviewers noted. I topped with corn flakes intead of wheat cereal. Could have used just a bit more flavor, in my opinion. Definite "comfort food" dish. I'm sure we will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
This was really good. I made a few changes to the recipe though. The meat and onions were browned in olive oil as opposed to the shortening. Some of the reviews stated that the original recipe was a little soupy, so I added some flour to the beef/onion mixture to thicken the sauce up some - this worked very well. I also added frozen veggies to the beef/onion mixture. I cut my potatoes up into small pieces and par-boiled them to reduce the baking time. And, I didn't have any wheat cereal or corn flakes so I crumbled Ritz crackers on top and it was SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
This casserole takes a long time to cook; but it's well worth the wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandiswan23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spencer, Indiana, USA
Living In: Linton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
This takes a bit to make, with all the steps, but it is super yummy and makes plenty for my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Cantrell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
This was very bland! Not sure what could be done to increase the flavor. Husband liked it better than I did but I wasn't very fond of it. Probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Twice Baked Potato Casserole with Bacon

Potatoes, bacon, cheese...need we say more?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States