Scrumptious Beef and Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
this is reallly good. i do add garlic pepper seasoning and extra garlic powder. i also add about 1 stalk of celery, sliced. fresh sliced mushrooms are good too. The last time I made this I used leftover round steak and it was great. i reduce the sour cream to 1/2 cup and do not use the cereal on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfield, California, USA
Living In: La Porte, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
This is so delicious! My husband loves it and he is PICKY. I used butter instead of shortening and added a tablespoon of garlic when I browned the meat. I also used a 1/2 cup more of cheddar and followed the suggestion to use a can of french fried onions instead of wheat flakes- it was a family hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I made it exactly as written. We thought it was pretty good. "Scrumptious" is overstating it I think. Not sure I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
This was not good. No one in my family would eat it. All the milk and sour cream curdled. It was runny. Not creamy at all. The flavor was very bland also. Not a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth Valencia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Kyle, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
this is a yummy comfort dish. I did as one other reveiwer did used grounb beef. 2lbs. Inreased the potatoes by 6 medium diced small. On top I used grated parmesan chesse very generously. Wow just yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Recipe sounds good but calls for 2 lbs beef stew meat, then in the directions says to brown the ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
This is a great casserol. I used hamburger (of course omitted the water that would have been added to the meat and onions) and slice my potatoes instead of diced. I had doughts about leaving it uncovered while baking but the cheese was brown and the topping crunchy (i used corn chex crunched up inplace of corn flakes (it was what i had on hand) Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jadaripley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
My husband is not much of a casserole eater but he liked this one well enough to have "as a change of pace." However, I did have to increase the amount of soup to 1 1/2 cans. But it was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
We call this upscale tatertot casserole. We used deer burger. My family really love this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mother and daughter team
Home Town: Sparland, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Great starter recipe. I used what I had on hand. No stew meat, onions, cheddar cheese or flake cereal. I used 1/2 ground Buffalo 1/2 beef, french fried onions, Mexican cheddar mix. Added steak sauce, Worcestershire sauce and pepper, corn and more mushrooms. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saycindy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Potato, Sausage, & Egg Breakfast Casserole

A cheesy breakfast casserole with hash browns, sausage, and egg.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States