Scrumptious Beef and Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Hubby said this was the best casserole he's ever had! I used bound beef and seasoned it with Mrs. Dash Italian, spicy and onion powder. Added garlic and sour cream to the sauce. Absolutely use the corn flakes. And he recommends Worcestershire sauce at the table for it. And more corn next time. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
I used ground beef.. added garlic to the beef while it simmered. (and just me--I added a pinch of cinnamon as well.) Used corn flakes. It was great- lots of compliments
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reetz O'Brien

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Temple City, California, USA
Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I was looking for something different for dinner tonight and came upon this recipe. I had all of the ingredients except the onions on hand. I had to use dry onions instead but that didn't make that big of deal. This was very tasty and I will make again. My husband enjoyed it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrington, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Loved this recipe. Made a few changes due to time and what I had at home. I used top round steak cut into thin slices cooked in olive oil with green onions and garlic. I used cream of mushroom with roasted garlic soup, and Pepperidge Farm cornbread stuffing for the topping. I drizzled melted butter over the stuffing. Also no water was needed for the steak. It was cut thin enough and against the grain so it cooked quick and tender. Baked for an hour and it turned out perfect. Also saved about half an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sheffield, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
This is a delicious one dish meal! My husband said its definitely a keeper! I made a few minor changes: used olive oil rather than shortening beef broth instead of water added 1 chopped green pepper & 4 cloves minced garlic to onion and beef while browning sprinkled simmering beef with a dash of marjoram, fresh ground pepper & pinch of thyme thickened beef mixture with a tbl of corn starch 3/4 c sour cream 1 c milk used ritz crackers I was concerned the casserole would be too soupy so cut back on the liquid ingredients. It was the perfect texture for our taste. I will definitely make this regularly. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
After reading all of the good reviews I was shocked at how much I did not like this. It was edible but too bland and I think a more beefy mushroom gravy would be way better than this white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Chadwick

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centerburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
good comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
I just literally took this dish out the oven...and came away from my plate to write this review. My family loves it...especially my husband. I used special K cereal on top(just pick the fruit out of it). I also added a green pepper and used a little less sour cream. Turned out great. Boiling the potatos for a little while cut the bake time in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
well for me this recipe was just ok.A little bland i will play with this recipe an will be adding more seasoning
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
this is reallly good. i do add garlic pepper seasoning and extra garlic powder. i also add about 1 stalk of celery, sliced. fresh sliced mushrooms are good too. The last time I made this I used leftover round steak and it was great. i reduce the sour cream to 1/2 cup and do not use the cereal on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfield, California, USA
Living In: La Porte, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States