Scrumptious Baked Chicken and Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I reversed the process on this. I took the potatoes, placed in a bowl and added the olive oil and seasonings and tossed together. Put the chicken into a baking dish and spread the potatoes around. I seasoned the chicken with garlic powder, s & p, then drizzled the remaining oil from the potatoes over the chicken. I put enough chicken broth in just to cover the botom of the pan, turns out I didn't really need to as the fat from the chicken would have done the trick. The end result was crispy skin chicken and lovely roasted potatoes. Next time I will check after 30 minutes, some of the fat may need to be drained off. Clean up was a breeze! Will be making again. Update: Made this again and brushed chicken with BBQ sauce for an additional 10 mins. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Recipe was good, but only thing that lacked was its variety in flavor and the adding of additional ingredients could've done more to help the dish. More variety in veggies and àccent seasoning would be a good touch along with letting the chicken marinate in a preferred sauce overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
It was a little bland for my tastes. But the kids had second helpings, and it was really easy to make, so I'm sure we'll make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Very, very, good. I wasn't sure about this one, but my wife and I loved it. Very easy to make. Used chicken broth instead of water. Used seasoning salt, and added onion and garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
I found this recipe to be bland, even though I used chicken broth, garlic and lemon juice instead of just water. The chicken tasted boiled. I appreciate that it was a healthier recipe that I could feel good about feeding to my 3 year old, but in terms of taste, it was just OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Used chicken stock instead of water. Tossed potatoes in 2 tbl olive oil, 2 cloves garlic, salt and pepper before putting into the pan. Also added 1 sliced yellow onion on top of chicken, then placed potatoes over entire mixture. Used 3 lbs chicken because that is what I had and it just fit into the roasting pan perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginny Bowers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Powhatan, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I've made this dish for few years w/some changes. I use bonesless chicken breasts, a whole sliced spanish or yellow onion, red potatoes and season everything with olive oil, salt, black pepper, rosemary or thyme,3-4 cloves of minced garlic, add everything to roasting pan. I then pour in some chicken broth and some white wine. Bake covered w/aluminum foil and remove foil apprx 10-15 min before done. Chicken and potatoes are delicious, tender and we pour some of the juice from the pan over the dish and serve with piece of fresh bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
It was ok. My family said "eh...it's ok." The chicken didn't brown up so it wasn't a very pretty dish. There was a bit too much liquid..maybe cutting it back to 3/4 cup might help? I used chicken stock but that didn't seem to help with the flavor... A tad bland for our liking. The chicken was juicy but all in all it was just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Milligan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Uccle, Brussels, Belgium
Living In: Derby, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
The name says it all! I didn’t have fresh rosemary so I used fresh basal and oregano with the time and garlic. I also used chicken broth instead of water and a good amount of salt and garlic pepper on top, coverd with foil for fall of the bone chicken. The potatoes were amazing, especially with gravy made from the drippings. The whole family loved this simple recipe so much I will be making it many more times. Thank You.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dawn marie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
This is the perfect dinner. It is easy, inexpensive, delicious and you dont have a lot of clean up! I made this for company and one of our guests said "you need to add this to your repeating recipes list." I thought that was good compliment! I made some changes that other reviewers suggested. I put the potatoes and large slices of onion in a bowl with the olive oil and seasoning (s+p, rosemary, thyme and garlic salt), and rolled it around to cover the vegetables. Then in the baking dish I put chicken broth and my chicken (I used bone in split chicken breasts cause that is what I had). I put some salt, pepper and a touch of cayenne on the chicken directly, then placed the potatoes and onions covered in the rosemary/thyme mix around the chicken. I also added a few whole garlic cloves for a little extra something. I cooked it uncovered, then added foil over top for the last 20 mins. Once it was done I took off the foil, added shredded parmesan and baked for another 5 mins. All that to say, there were no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Herbes de Provence Roasted Chicken & Potatoes

See how to create a sensational baked chicken meal in 3 simple steps.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Honey Baked Chicken II

Honey, mustard, and curry create a simple, sweet-and-savory baked chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States