Scrumptious Baked Chicken and Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
The recipe is simple but there are a few extra things that can be done to turn this recipe to an easy 5-star. Instead of using one cup of water, I substituted one cup of (no sodium chicken) broth. I tossed the potato cubes/slices with seasoning and EVOO. I used skinless thighs for this and reckon the meat would have been a lot better with skin-on thighs that were marinated in the oil mixture. After the chicken was done, I covered it with potatoes, scooped juice over the pile and then sprinkled with Parmesan. I let that cook for another 5 minutes and then broiled between 5-10 minutes. Again, because I used skinless thighs on my first attempt, the potatoes were the star of the meal. However, I will make this again and use skin-on thighs. Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faux Chef

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
This is so easy to throw together and my family loves it. I added a few things; like others I used fat free chicken broth instead of water. I mixed the herbs with the EVOO and added 2 chopped cloves of garlic, 1/2 t. pepper, 1/2 t. salt; then coated the potatoes w/ the oil mixture before layering them on the chicken. I also added a thinly sliced onion on the chicken before putting on the potatoes. I used boneless chicken breast just because that's what I had- turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
This was an excellent recipe. It's easy to make ... the potatoes were smooth, the chicken was crispy and yet juicy on the inside and it took no time at all to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Summerpls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lachute, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
This was a very good recipe. I tweeked a few things by reading others reviews and adding a few things of my own. Season the chicken w/ Lawry's seasoned salt, garlic powder, onion powder and pepper. I cut the water by 1/2, added minced garlic and oregano to evoo mixture. Sprinkled additional Lawry's over entire dish. Covered w/ alum foil for the remaining 20 mins of cooking which allowed the potatoes to cook through. Removed the alum foil and broiled on high for 8 minutes to crisp the skin of chicken. This dish was a winner!! Check out the completed custom recipe on my channel. The recipe is titled delicious baked chicken and potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
Easy, tasty recipe. I used chicken thighs, left the skin on. Juicy chicken, the fat from the chicken made the potates crispy on the outside. Yum. I only used 1/2 cup water, was thinking about the chicken rendering as it cooked, which helped the potatoes flavor and tender but crisp texture. Loved the herbs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Paso Robles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
This is the perfect dinner. It is easy, inexpensive, delicious and you dont have a lot of clean up! I made this for company and one of our guests said "you need to add this to your repeating recipes list." I thought that was good compliment! I made some changes that other reviewers suggested. I put the potatoes and large slices of onion in a bowl with the olive oil and seasoning (s+p, rosemary, thyme and garlic salt), and rolled it around to cover the vegetables. Then in the baking dish I put chicken broth and my chicken (I used bone in split chicken breasts cause that is what I had). I put some salt, pepper and a touch of cayenne on the chicken directly, then placed the potatoes and onions covered in the rosemary/thyme mix around the chicken. I also added a few whole garlic cloves for a little extra something. I cooked it uncovered, then added foil over top for the last 20 mins. Once it was done I took off the foil, added shredded parmesan and baked for another 5 mins. All that to say, there were no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
As people have said, I used chicken broth in place of water & I made a delicious gravy with the drippings & more broth. Also added carrots. This is a keeper :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Swedesboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
This was just okay. The chicken didn't brown up and get crispy and the amount of liquid was a little too much. Overall it was kinda bland, which is surprising considering I used chicken stock instead of water. The potatoes were pretty good with nice flavor (but not enough). Conclusion: I've had much better baked chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoconutGirl

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
Excellent! I used the juice to make gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by readernut

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hermann, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
This was easy to make and everyone loved it...I didn't have olive oil so I boiled chicken bullion cubes and made a broth for it instead of water. I also used Mrs. Dash Itallian seasoning for the chicken and potatoes ( I am staying with my mother and father in law and it was all I could find.) It was really good though everyone had leftovers and my husband and I made sandwhices out of some of the leftovers. This was one recipe that didn't go to waste. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harlan, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Split Chicken Breast

See how to make easy, juicy baked chicken with a delicious, crispy skin.

Herbes de Provence Roasted Chicken & Potatoes

See how to create a sensational baked chicken meal in 3 simple steps.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States