Screwdriver Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
Excellent and easy! I didn't have a cake mix so I just used a basic scratch yellow cake and added a teaspoon of vanilla extract...then followed the screwdriver cake directions. Next time I will add a 2nd layer of glaze and some orange zest to it, as suggested by others. Will make again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Very moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
I made this for a party I was having a work. Wow! Everyone loved it! The only thing I did was added about 1 tsp. grated orange peel to the batter and did not make the glaze, just because I forgot to buy my confectioners sugar, and it was still wonderful. Ratings were off the charts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Westminster, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
What a great idea! I could only find a red velvet cake mix and that seemed to work. My BF tasted the batter and said he couldn't taste the vodka, so I put an extra 1/4 cup - wooooh! I juiced an orange and added zest for the glaze but it was pretty runny; needs more powdered sugar. Also, step 2 forgets to list the addition of vodka, but that's when it goes in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
This cake was good but it didn't have much flavor. It was very moist but didn't have much orange flavor. I had people ask me why it was called screwdriver cake. If I make it again I will add extra orange flavor and do a different topping since this one just soaked in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baily
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I squeezed my own orange juice and accidentally added a lemon, but it still turned out delicious!!! I will definitely be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baily

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
I added orange zest to the cake batter and it made it even more delicious! The glaze was really good too. I added a teaspoon of vodka to the glaze as well, just add more 10x sugar to compensate for the extra liquid
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
This cake is fabulous! I am eating a piece now (still warm from the oven). Great flavor and I don't even like the mixed drink screwdriver but this cake rocks! Thank you for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
I made this for a superbowl party and everyone loved it. The glaze did absorb into the cake so I made another batch of glaze reducing the orange juice to two tablespoons and regalzed after it completely cooled. I also added fresh orange zest to the glaze. My husdand is a chef and loved this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ARow
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
Very neat cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States