Screaming Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
THESE POTATOES ARE AWESOME! They were perfect with the BBQ chicken & corn on the cob I made for supper last night & shared with the older couple next door. My hubby & the neighbors loved them too & the neighbors also asked for the recipe. Since I no longer have cast iron skillets, I cooked them in a single layer in a large non-stick pan & added a little extra water as needed. Once they were tender I added about 2 tablespoons of parsley & shook the pan to coat the potatoes. They didn't get crisp but they were tender, tasty & delicious. I will be making these potatoes on a regular basis. THANKS FOR SHARING THIS RECIPE !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Easy and interesting. Will probably do again during the winter when I use more potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
I made the Screaming Potatoes last night. I do not have a tight fitting lid for my cast iron skillet so I had to add tablespoons of water as needed. These potatoes were delicious and creamy with a tasty potato crust on the outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by womanwithstixs

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Delray Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Well, what can I say....they tasted like potatoes. Had to cook them for an extra 10 minutes to try and crisp them up, but that didn't help. Considering that it took and hour and there was nothing crispy or special about them, I will be deleting this recipe from by recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Worried I was going to ruin the cast iron skillet, but no problem. These were really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
This was definitely a fun and convenient way to cook little (inch or so) red or white potatoes and the potatoes were very tender. But I honestly (and I mean this in the nicest way) didn't see what the big deal was. With mine, the salt didn't even stick (and I actually bought a cast iron pan for this recipe). My experience was that the results were not terribly different than boiling. Sorry, but mine definitely weren't as fun as described. And in the end I added butter on the plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gluten Free Jeannie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
I have been cooking potatoes in the skin for years. I put water to cover potatoes and boil till tender. I use the leftovers to chop for hashbrowns or reheat and eat wtth butter or take a cold tater and wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tea Ja

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
We had these for dinner last night. So sweet withou any butter. These are my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
I, too, do not have a cast iron pan. I grew up using them, but alas, they are all still in Oregon with my mom. And I do not have access to them, but I decided to use my nonstick pans anyway with the thought they would not turn out the same as advertised. And, no, they didn't, but I'm okay with that. They actually cook pretty well this way, even in a nonstick pan--they turn out very soft and buttery, and the salt flavors the potatoes almost like the Salt Potatoes I've tried--but with way less salt. I also put in some dried rosemary and parsley, and I liked them that way. I had to cook a bit longer--about 10 minutes more, but I knew they were done when one potato pretty much fell apart in the pan. Nice potatoes, and easy--just don't expect a crisp outer shell in a nonstick pan. I also don't know what the "screaming" is all about--maybe they are "screaming good"? Not a clue, but thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
They didn't scream, nor did they crisp and they were just so-so. Not worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Randolph, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Santa Ana, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

Pan-Roasted Marble Potatoes

See how to make colorful pan-roasted baby new potatoes with bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States