Screaming Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2000
I must have added too much water because they didn't have any crunchiness to them. But they were steamed very nicely. I don't prefer to use cast iron, but I tried it for this recipe. I think I will use a different cooking method in the future, such as steaming with herbs. My husband thought they were good too, but nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2001
I have been making this recipe for years. I am glad it is being shared here. We love these potatoes. Sometime we make them with Mrs. Dash added with the salt, but they are great with just the kosher salt. They can also be made in a non stick pan and turn out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2002
This was an amazing side dish. You wouldn't think anything this easy to prepare could taste this good. I was concerned about leaving the potatoes whole rather than sliced but they cooked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2002
This seemed too simple to turn out well...boy was I wrong! It was like eating little baked potatoes. Even my picky teen liked them. I used a non stick pot since my cast iron doesn't have a top and they turned out great!!! Thanks Kevin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2002
So very easy and so very delicious. I used a nonstick pan and did not get that "crunchiness" as described but we didn't miss it. My husband repeatedly said how good they were. Take the advice of the description and just try it - you will be surprised! Thank you for this recipe, this will become a staple in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2002
I bought a cast iron skillet just for this recipe and was disappointed. I may have used too much water. I ended up with basic steamed potatoes. I'll try it again with exactly two tablespoons of water and see what happens. If it turns out the same though, I'll remove this one from my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2002
Way too easy for how great these are. I make these all the time. The kids love them! I use a non stick pan and they turn out fine, but I'm sure they're even better in an iron pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
This is the best way to make new potatoes! They come out so perfectly and evenly cooked in just a few minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
Mine were screaming, "were done!" after 1/2 the time called for ;). These are good potatoes, especially considering how easy they were to make. I do however think that they could use a bit of kick, maybe some sliced jalapenos in the skillet would do the trick- Thanks Kevin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
5, 5, 5. This recipe is simple, inexpensive, and surprisingly DELICIOUS! I couldn't understand how something with so few ingredients could taste so awesome. Try this, if you cook it correctly, you will surely love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States