Screaming Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
My taters were burned, HOWEVER, they tasted great. I like to taste the potatoes, so just salt worked for me. I'm going to try again w/o the burn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Absolutely loved these potatoes! I own a 12" cast iron skillet with a cast iron lid, so I was fully equipped. The creaminess of the potatoes was remarkable. It reminded me of Syracuse Potatoes, without the effort! When these were done, I removed the 'tators from the pan, scraped out the larger salt "formations" and threw in a half stick of butter. As it was melting in the residual heat, I returned the potatoes to the pan, tossed them around and sliced each in half, and then flipped all the halves cut side down. I'd made a pork roast with sauerkraut and kielbasa, and we served ourselves right from the stove top (steamed and buttered broccoli rounded out the meal). Great meal, and I've made these screaming potatoes twice since then. Thanks for a real keeper, Kevin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
Absolutely delicious! I added fresh rosemary and onions, the potatoes were infused with flavor. Nice not to have to turn on the oven in the summer. This will definitely be a house favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
I used a good heavy deep dish pan (because i didn't have a good sized cast iron skillet on hand) and small russet potatoes, added about a tablespoon of butter, sprinkled with an unknown amount of salt and granulated garlic, and they came out great. Served with butter and chives, even better. It really was worth the try :) Definitely will make again (and there's so many ways to customize it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
very good! I used regular red potatoes, (didnt have new potatoes on hand) and they were great, so tender. I used cast iron skillet with glass lid, so I could "watch" them, cooked for about an hour on low. Can only imagine how good new potatoes would be! So easy, love the fact that I can put them on and leave it to attend to other things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sadams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
They weren't bad. But they weren't AMAZING either!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I cooked them in olive oil and used sea salt instead of kosher salt. They were quite addicting. If I can ever keep myself from eating them right off of the skillet, then next time I will top them shredded cheese, sliced marinated jalapeno, scallions, bacon bits and sour cream -then serve them to my hubby or guest on the skillet with a couple of beers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heaven

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcallen, Texas, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
I made this for dinner last night and guess what? It tasted like, um.....cooked potatoes! I followed the recipe exactly and they never made a peep. Not even a whimper, much less a scream. They'd have to sing a little song and do a little dance before I'd bother with this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
I have a cask iron pot but not a skillet, it works fine, but they only need 30 minutes until they're soft and lovely inside. I couldn't find kosher salt when I went looking so I just use sea salt and it tastes great! We had them with the Teriyaki Tuna (from irakaway) it was all very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
Living In: Cambridge, Cambridgeshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
I made this as stated, other than adding 1/2 the salt. Used my cast iron frying pan and had the burner at med-low for about 40 min. They were done perfectly, only, I never heard any "screaming" so I'm not sure what that's about. My only complaint? I wish I'd made more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States