Screaming Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2005
Effortless and tasty. Served with butter, the potatoes were deliciously creamy with crispy skins. I will be making these often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2004
Nice and simple. I added some fresh ground pepper and minced garlic as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2004
OK, I'm a big fan of potatoes, so I had to try this recipe. I'm an experienced cook, so I figured this simple recipe would be a piece of cake. Well, it is. BUT ... it took me two tries to get it right. For anyone who has poor results on the first try, I say try again! You may have to play with the level of heat (that's what I needed to do) to get great results. But when you get it right, MAN, THESE TATERS ARE GOOD! I was just popping them in plain, without even adding butter. The crispy outside and fluffy inside make these really, really good. Definitely worth a second chance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2004
These are awesome. I love garlic, so I add a bit of garlic powder. Other than that there is no reason to change this recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cairns, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2004
I like this recipe and will try again. I didn't have kosher salt on hand and substituted 1 tables. of sea salt with over salty results. The skins didn't crispin so at the end I removed lid and cooked awhile longer. At very end added butter, minced garlic, parsley and pepper. Thanks for sharing Kevin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2004
My potatoes didn't scream too much. But i's an easy enough recipe that I would make again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2004
What could I possibly be doing wrong? I am considered quite a good cook, but this is the third try on these and they aren't "screaming" or crusty. I used a high quality cast iron skillet and covered them....and every time all I get are little baked red potatoes and a salty mess in the bottom of my skillet. My husband loves red potatoes, so I'm sure I'll continue to try these...maybe one day they'll finally come out the way I imagine they should be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya Belt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conneaut, Ohio, USA
Living In: Newcomerstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2003
My skins didn't come out crunchy. Also, had to mix up the potato on my plate to "mix in" the salt flavoring. Was too salty just to eat a bite with the skin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne Oberlin Rutkowski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2003
The only thing "screming" was me. I followed the recipe to the letter, and all I got were par cooked, tasteless red potato rocks....sounds like this recipe is either a hit or a miss, with nothing in between.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2003
Kevin clearly stated you needed a cast iron skillet for this recipe. I didn't use one and they didn't turn out correctly. This is mostly a warning that you must use a cast iron skillet for this recipe to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

Fondant Potatoes

Impressive, perfect potatoes with tender, creamy insides and crispy edges.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States