Screaming Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
ok, I'm a huge fan of potatoes, every conceivable kind of potatoes. With that, I am only rating these a 3 because my husband loved them and I could either do with or without. I used my cast iron skillet, cut red and gold potatoes in quarters. I was impatient to wait the 45 min. so I upped my heat to around med. regardless of the temp. they still took 40 min. to cook and when they started "screaming" I assumed they were doing the right thing. However since you're not supposed to lift the lid, I didn't know most of the skins were burnt crisp until lifting the lid, although I could smell something burning! My husband loved them because he loves charred anything but I wasn't impressed. I put lots of butter and pepper on them and the leftovers went to the pouch. I will try these again as some suggestions state to because i want to see if they can come out as great as everyone who loved them says. I'm not sure if they would ever had crisped up if not for upping the heat though, so not sure what to do with that for next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4FIVE05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2005
The amount of salt was way too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2005
Effortless and tasty. Served with butter, the potatoes were deliciously creamy with crispy skins. I will be making these often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2004
Nice and simple. I added some fresh ground pepper and minced garlic as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2004
OK, I'm a big fan of potatoes, so I had to try this recipe. I'm an experienced cook, so I figured this simple recipe would be a piece of cake. Well, it is. BUT ... it took me two tries to get it right. For anyone who has poor results on the first try, I say try again! You may have to play with the level of heat (that's what I needed to do) to get great results. But when you get it right, MAN, THESE TATERS ARE GOOD! I was just popping them in plain, without even adding butter. The crispy outside and fluffy inside make these really, really good. Definitely worth a second chance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2004
These are awesome. I love garlic, so I add a bit of garlic powder. Other than that there is no reason to change this recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deedle Gee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cairns, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2004
I like this recipe and will try again. I didn't have kosher salt on hand and substituted 1 tables. of sea salt with over salty results. The skins didn't crispin so at the end I removed lid and cooked awhile longer. At very end added butter, minced garlic, parsley and pepper. Thanks for sharing Kevin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2004
My potatoes didn't scream too much. But i's an easy enough recipe that I would make again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2004
What could I possibly be doing wrong? I am considered quite a good cook, but this is the third try on these and they aren't "screaming" or crusty. I used a high quality cast iron skillet and covered them....and every time all I get are little baked red potatoes and a salty mess in the bottom of my skillet. My husband loves red potatoes, so I'm sure I'll continue to try these...maybe one day they'll finally come out the way I imagine they should be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya Belt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conneaut, Ohio, USA
Living In: Newcomerstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2003
My skins didn't come out crunchy. Also, had to mix up the potato on my plate to "mix in" the salt flavoring. Was too salty just to eat a bite with the skin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States