Scrapple Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
Sorry, scrapple is not made with sweetened condensed milk, use broth from simmered pork or chicken broth. This recipe is sweet, "Pennsylvania Dutch" scrapple is not sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Followed the recipe to the T and it was delicious! ! Make sure you drain and rinse the sausage after cooking it to get rid of the grease/fat. Sweet and savory
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justin Watson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
This is a good alternative to buying a whole loaf of scrapple since I'm the only one who likes it. It isn't the exact taste but good enough. Next time I'll whiz it in a blender before packing it into a pan. I cut it way down to 2 servings sizes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Took the recipe creator's most recent advice and used evap milk instead of sweetened condensed. This tastes okay, not terrible by any means, but not what consider to be traditional scrapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Galeton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Slice it thin, dust with cornmeal and fry til crispy....mmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
tried this but this recipe was not the scrapple I grew up eating. This recipe was ok but I could not get past the sweetness. To me, scrapple is NOT sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I have been making a more traditional scrapple for years. My recipe was past down from generations of farm families West of the Missiouri River (KS). Tips: Use several pounds of fresh pork neck bones slow cooked down in medium size crock pot till meat falls from the bone. SAVE the broth! Use 1/2 broth, 1/2 EVAPORATED milk. Salt and pepper to taste. Then to break tradition try some WHITE corn meal instead of yellow. Slice THIN (1/8 to 1/4 in.) with razor sharp slicing knife and fry in very small amount of extra virgin olive oil till well browned or desired doneness is achieved. YUM YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Hi All, thanks for trying this recipe. The original did call for evaporated rather than condensed milk, at the time of publication I miseed the typo, and imagine this would be fearsome sweet if made with the sweetened milk and then served with extra syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KCFOXY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Coming from Maryland, I've enjoyed scrapple for many years, but I've never been served any that's sweet. The prep time was was great compared to some more traditional methods, but the sweetened condensed milk was a bad idea. I'll make this recipe again, but I'll try regular condensed milk or broth instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I am sure this is a great recipe for this food item but it is not an item we will ever make again. It is just not a dish our buds yearn for. If you didn't grow up with this, as others have indicated, you probably won't enjoy it as much as folks who can anticipate the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Geneseo, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Charleston Breakfast Casserole

A crowd-pleasing casserole with bacon, bell peppers, and a cheesy crouton base.

Authentic Huevos Rancheros

A simple tostada-style breakfast with fried eggs, beans, bacon, and salsa.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States