Scrambled Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
Turned out very good, although I made changes. Used mushrooms, red & green bell peppers and chopped onion, and didn't have turmeric so I used mustard powder (figured it might add a bit of yellow to make it look more like eggs), onion and garlic powders and a pinch of curry powder. Topped with fresh herbs and wrapped in a tortilla. Next time I think I will season and start cooking the tofu first, then add veggies because it took about 10 minutes to cook off the liquid and by then the peppers were cooked too much for my taste. So next time I'll saute the tofu for 5 minutes or so before adding the veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2002
I made some modifications to this recipe. First, I didn't put any cheese. I sauteed the tofu with diced green pepper and sliced mushrooms, and added the tomato in last. I also crumbled the tofu into the pan instead of "mashing" it, so it looked like scrambled eggs. It was a tad soupy. The vegans loved it, and I thought it was pretty good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMI1Y

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Photo by LucyDelRey
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
This recipe is very similar to mine. There are many variations to scrambled tofu. Make sure you use firm or extra firm water packed tofu and not silken. Also, only use spoonful of chopped tomatoes or salsa. This dish tastes great with toast and salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LucyDelRey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Marina Del Rey, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2004
I didn't have any green onions so I just subbed other dried spices (basil, oregano, thyme, and red pepper flakes) and it turned out quite yummy. Definitely squeeze out the water from the tofu before you cook it (I found using non-silken tofu worked better). The cheese added nice flavor at the end. This is good, and makes a quick and easy snack or meal. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
Pretty good. I used half the tomatoe juice, but it was still very liquidy. Next time i will drain the tomatoes completely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
I added cumin, coriander, curry, and cayenne to this, which spiced it up nicely. I also drained the tomatos and next time I too, would use firm rather than silken tofu because it was a bit soupy. But this is a good easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2006
Great in the morning! We followed the recipe and it turned out great! we did use a little more chesse but it was still awesome! and a word of advice-children under twelve will believe these are scrambled eggs they taste just like them and are even more healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2007
Made this for dinner tonight and it was great! I didn't have green onions, but used green peppers, a little spinach, and portobello mushrooms. I also didn't add tomatoes because I was afraid it would be too soupy. Also, next time I will cook the tofu and the sauteed veggies in a separate pan. Once you add the tofu (and the water that inevitably comes with it), the crispy green peppers got really soft. Overall, I really liked this recipe and will experiment with it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
Delicious alternative for eggs in the morning! I also added some mozzarella cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LILRED7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA
Living In: Taito, Tokyo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
I thought this was great. I'm not strictly vegetarian but do try to add soy into my diet and tend to have bits of leftover from soups and such. I had a half a box leftover and so added soy sausage, mushrooms, onion and 1/2 cup of leftover canned tomatoes (which I rinsed and drained otherwise I believe it would have been too much liquid) I then added 3 scrambled eggs at the end and topped with the cheese. My three kids liked it also and had seconds for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Summer Scrambled Eggs

Fresh basil, cherry tomatoes, and feta cheese make the perfect summer scramble.

Scrambled Eggs Done Right

See how to make perfect fluffy scrambled eggs.

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States