Scrambled Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I made this for my kids and they loved it! They've asking for me to make it again. Oh, and I bought all of the ingredients at the 99 cent store so it was a very cheap dinner for the 4 of us:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Waid

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
outstanding recipe. my husband (a big fan of runny eggs) loved it. instead of the canned tomatoes I added 2 small chopped tomatoes, fresh garlic, and chopped fresh cilantro. used daiya cheddar and nutritional yeast served it with vegan sausage and toast. definitely a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
Great for a summertime lunch! Modifications: I used ready-made salsa to substitute for the tomatoes and onions, and added minced garlic & cayenne. I omitted the cheese though. This would make a good pita wrap filling! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
I didn't like this. I thought the tomatoes were sour next to the tofu. It has a pretty strange taste and I didn't think the turmeric helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
My family LOVES this, I made a few changes. I put swiss cheese on top and put it into pita pockets... wonderful meal.. You won't have to drain the tomatoes if you wrap the tofu up in a cheese cloth and let the water drain totally out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cottage Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Brattleboro, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Really enjoyed making this - we added mushrooms and green peppers. The tofu seemed to added a nice velvety texture not the same as eggs but somewhat similar. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANSENMA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
I picked this recipe because I liked the idea of the tomatoes mixing with the tofu, but I found it to be too much-maybe half a can would have been better...but then what to do with the other half? :P I omitted the cheese-not in the diet. I added chopped garlic and a few mushrooms, along with some cayenne and cumin. I also crumbled some firm tofu (not silken). But I still thought it tasted like tofu-not sure how people can mistake it for eggs :P It was a nice change, but I'm not sure it satisfied.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I give this 4 stars in concept. I took some mods from other posters and the finished product was absolutely FANTASTIC! I've been cooking with tofu for a few years. My son is a football player and Tofu is an excellent source of protein. The trick with cooking with Tofu is to make sure you press it. Take a kitchen towel and fold it around the tofu. I used firm tofu for this recipe. Press as much of the water out by using you hands. Change towel and press again then put a heavy pot on top of it for about 5 minutes. Lay the pressed tofu on paper towels to "air dry" for about 15 minutes. Then it's ready to use. I used 1/2 of a large red bell pepper, 1/2 scallion, 4 cloves of garlic, 1/2 c. Shitake Mushrooms, 1/2 c. of Baby Bellas a can of Original Style Rotell (drained), and used spiced Himalayan Salt, Hot Madras Curry Powder and the Turmeric. I chopped all veggies into little diced pieces and sauteed them in garlic and olive oil for about 3 minutes and then added the crumbled tofu. Once the tofu was cooked well, I added the drained rotell and spices. Cooked until heated through.... This was a BIG hit and will become a staple brunch/snack in our home. I will have to double, or maybe triple the recipe next time because everyone wanted seconds, but there was only enough for three servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whispering Raven

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer Price
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
OMG!! This was so much better that I anticipated. I made a few modifications. I mashed up a pack of firm organic tofu. Chopped up a med yellow onion. One small green bell pepper. One medium organic russet potato and turmeric to taste and a little sea salt. I made this for my 16 year old daughter who is very vegan and does not like tofu. She had no idea there was tofu in this dish. The only thing she asked was, " Is this fake egg?" I replied with a yes! She loved it and never knew the difference nor will I ever tell her. It is so hard to get enough protein in her with her extremely picky diet. But, this dish is a definite keeper. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Price

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Yum! So much better than scrambled eggs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Summer Scrambled Eggs

Fresh basil, cherry tomatoes, and feta cheese make the perfect summer scramble.

Scrambled Eggs Done Right

See how to make perfect fluffy scrambled eggs.

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States