Scott's Sweet Potato and Butternut Squash Mashers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
delicious! I did add a little bit of butter and salt when I mixed in the syrup and spices. This is a great comfort food for me. I've made mashed sweet potatoes before, but found them to be a little thick and starchy. The butternut squash lightens it up and makes it a little more fluffy. I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
This tastes just like pumpkin pie! I used a half of a large butternut squash to three medium large sweet potatoes. Also, I thought it could cook until tender (less than 20 minutes). Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Really good! Easy...I did add a little salt though. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeeDee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
Wow!! loved this healthy recipe and even better, my 3 year old and 1 year old loved it too. I didn't make any changes to the recipe. However, I boiled the potatoes and sliced the squash into easier more manageable pieces for skinning. Once cooled, I peeled the squash. Adds a little more time to prep, but saves the fingers while peeling skin off raw butternut squash. Will be a part of weekly meals for sure !!! Thankss for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bluheelr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cornwall, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Everyone loved it! It's better with some salt though--more of a side dish than a dessert that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
Yum. I used half of a large squash and 2 small potatoes. For syrup I used half ED Smith sugar free syrup and half regular pancake syrup. Doesn't need butter, already very moist. Definitely better with salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brantford, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
YUM! Great for kids especially. I added a couple tablespoons of butter and some salt and pepper to make these more like traditional mashed potatoes. The addition of the squash made these light and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
Very good! I added 1-2 T of butter with some splenda brown sugar blend. I did not have any syrup so I used 1 T. of dark molasses. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Deridder, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Great recipe! Tasted and smelled delicious. It did turn out a little watery, but that could have been my fault? Will for sure make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Yummy! I baked the squash in the oven, rather than boiling it. I thought it may retain more vitamins this way. Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly. It was delicious. Next time, I may add a little bit of butter, and make a breadcrumb topping for it and bake it. I'm thinking that it will be similar to the sweet potato bake that i love from boston market restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States