Scott's Sweet Potato and Butternut Squash Mashers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
I baked both the squash and the sweet potatoes. I think it's healthier, and it's much simpler to get them out of their jackets when they're cooked. I put the squash in at 350 for 30 minutes then added the potatoes for another 30 minutes. The result was delicious, and sweet enough that I didn't add any sweetener. I would definitely make it again using the same method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
Just made this tonight, and it was great! Very easy too. I added some butter, salt and pepper to the ingredients. I did a google search on how to skin a butternut squash. I highly recommend doing that if you don't know the secret.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Yummy! I baked the squash in the oven, rather than boiling it. I thought it may retain more vitamins this way. Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly. It was delicious. Next time, I may add a little bit of butter, and make a breadcrumb topping for it and bake it. I'm thinking that it will be similar to the sweet potato bake that i love from boston market restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
delicious! I did add a little bit of butter and salt when I mixed in the syrup and spices. This is a great comfort food for me. I've made mashed sweet potatoes before, but found them to be a little thick and starchy. The butternut squash lightens it up and makes it a little more fluffy. I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
I cooked butternut squash for the first time! I had no idea what to do with it but this recipe gave me lots of direction. Thanks to everyone for their ideas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
This tastes just like pumpkin pie! I used a half of a large butternut squash to three medium large sweet potatoes. Also, I thought it could cook until tender (less than 20 minutes). Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Made as directed, and hate to say it, but I was disappointed. I love all the ingredients in this, but it tasted watery and bland. I had a helping, but even the baby wouldn't eat more than one bite....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
Yum. I used half of a large squash and 2 small potatoes. For syrup I used half ED Smith sugar free syrup and half regular pancake syrup. Doesn't need butter, already very moist. Definitely better with salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brantford, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
Very good! I added 1-2 T of butter with some splenda brown sugar blend. I did not have any syrup so I used 1 T. of dark molasses. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Deridder, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Everyone loved it! It's better with some salt though--more of a side dish than a dessert that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States