Scott's Sweet Potato and Butternut Squash Mashers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
Just made this tonight, and it was great! Very easy too. I added some butter, salt and pepper to the ingredients. I did a google search on how to skin a butternut squash. I highly recommend doing that if you don't know the secret.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
delicious! I did add a little bit of butter and salt when I mixed in the syrup and spices. This is a great comfort food for me. I've made mashed sweet potatoes before, but found them to be a little thick and starchy. The butternut squash lightens it up and makes it a little more fluffy. I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
This tastes just like pumpkin pie! I used a half of a large butternut squash to three medium large sweet potatoes. Also, I thought it could cook until tender (less than 20 minutes). Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Really good! Easy...I did add a little salt though. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeeDee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
Wow!! loved this healthy recipe and even better, my 3 year old and 1 year old loved it too. I didn't make any changes to the recipe. However, I boiled the potatoes and sliced the squash into easier more manageable pieces for skinning. Once cooled, I peeled the squash. Adds a little more time to prep, but saves the fingers while peeling skin off raw butternut squash. Will be a part of weekly meals for sure !!! Thankss for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Collins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cornwall, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
I had never cooked with butternut squash before. We love sweet potatoes and thought we'd like to try this recipe. I'm so glad we did. It was a very pleasant surprise. I even enjoy this recipe cold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Everyone loved it! It's better with some salt though--more of a side dish than a dessert that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
Yum. I used half of a large squash and 2 small potatoes. For syrup I used half ED Smith sugar free syrup and half regular pancake syrup. Doesn't need butter, already very moist. Definitely better with salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brantford, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
YUM! Great for kids especially. I added a couple tablespoons of butter and some salt and pepper to make these more like traditional mashed potatoes. The addition of the squash made these light and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
Very good! I added 1-2 T of butter with some splenda brown sugar blend. I did not have any syrup so I used 1 T. of dark molasses. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Deridder, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States