Scott's Savory BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
Followed the directions and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
I took some advice from other reviewers when I made this sauce. First of all, I cut the entire recipe into 1/4. Substituted 5oz. can of tomato paste + 3T Ketchup for the bottle (or 1/4 bottle for mine) of ketchup. I sauteed finely-chopped onion (1/2 small) and garlic (1 small head) in olive oil and then added ingredients to sauce pan, heating through, but not to boiling. I also added 1/4-1/3C water at the end to cut the vinegar. Excellent sauce! used it on a pork shoulder I had smoked all day at 200º. Wonderful meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lance

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morgan Hill, California, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Great sauce! I halved the recipe, added only 1 tsp salt, and 1 tsp red pepper flakes. We used it to soak some shredded pork roast that dried out too much in the crock pot, and made bbq pulled pork sandwiches with it. It has a bite. Glad I didn't add more pepper flakes! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bristol, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
My whole family and now my friends love this bbq sauce! I am the designated bbq sauce maker whenever it's needed. We love to cook chicken breasts in a slow cooker and then shred them and pour this sauce in.....AWESOME Healthy BBQ Chicken sandwiches!!!!! Thank you so much Silent Hokie for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 7nflgirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I needed a sauce to please everyone, and this sounded like just the perfect one. I had to make some adjustments to it, but it's REALLY good! I thought the combination of vinegar, ketchup and lemon juice sounded a little too tangy for me, even though I consider myself addicted to anything with vinegar, so I used white vinegar instead of cider vinegar, I used a can of condensed tomato soup instead of the ketchup and eliminated the lemon juice all together. After mixing it all up, I still found it a bit too tangy for my liking so I added 3 tablespoons of molasses. After adding the molasses, I found it just right -- it was so good, in fact, that my 6-year old asked for a bowl of it to dip her veggies in! It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryEllen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I made enough to can this for future use. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichaeleM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elberfeld, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lyons, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
This is one of the best BBQ sauces I have made it works well with chicken and pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Thanks to this recipe, I will never buy BBQ sauce again. I did cut down on the vinegar by about half. Was perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Just made this, and based on the other reviews, cut back on the vinegar by 1/4 cup. Still, I found it watery and acidy from too much vinegar. So like that, it was a 3 star recipe for me. I added a tablespoon of cornstartch to thicken, a small can of tomato paste, and 1-2 teaspoons of liquid smoke and HOLY HALLELUJAH! 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Clemente, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Recipe works better if you bring the ingredients to a very low boil and simmer for 20 minutes, cool and then bottle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

A Very Popular BBQ Sauce

This homemade BBQ sauce is a little bit sweet, a little bit spicy, and a whole lo

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States