Scott's Savory BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
Generally, I tend to avoid recipes with only 1 or 2 ratings. I came across this one while looking for a sauce that didn't use dry mustard or liquid smoke and decided to give it a try. Exactly what I expected, perfect balance between sweet and acidic taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
I hestitated making such a big batch of this sauce never having tried the recipe before but it was delicious. It is so much better than store bought--I don't think I'll ever go back! It is nice having homemade, delicious sauce all ready in the fridge when you are ready to BBQ. We'll definately be using this all summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
This barbecue sauce is a lot better then the sauces you can buy in stores. If you don't believe me try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Delicious. I started by sauteing finely diced onions and garlic in butter in a large pot, adding the remaining ingredients and simmering for about 15 minutes to combine the ingredients. I thickened it up a bit by adding a couple of tablespoons of tomato paste, and stirring it into the bubbling brew. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leigh Sheppard

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
Yum! This sauce is great! My husband from N Carolina was really pleased. I put a 2lb pork tenderloin in the crock pot with 2 cups of water and salt and pepper, let it cook for four or five hours, pulled it apart, added some of this awesome sauce and let it warm in the crock pot for another 30 min to an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
My very hard to please husband, LOVED this sauce. I cut the recipe in half and used Splenda brown sugar blend to cut back on calories a bit. Personally, I would add just a tad less vinegar, but that's probably what hubby liked about it. A very nice mix of sweet and sour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
Great unique flavor. The next time I made it I added butter and water to cut down on the vinegar byte. Also added 1 tbl spoon of cayenne pepper for some more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
I found this sauce to be mediocre at best. All I could taste was ketchup so I added slightly more worcestershire. I didn't help that much. I will not make this sauce again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
loved loved loved this sauce. I prepared it and added it to the crockpot with a pork tenderloin and let it cook for 5 hours. We had the best pulled pork sandwiches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wstbrkfan1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
I made this sauce and drenched some back ribs on the pit , and this is easily one of the best sauces i ever tasted .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baker, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States