Scott's Coast-to-Coast Famous Chicken Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
This is my husband's wing recipe, too. Peanut oil is really the only way to go. Crispier wings and the flavor just can't be beat. I don't like wings usually but these are MONEY. Try them for yourself and you'll see.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Nothing secret about this recipe. I brine my wings for a day, then rinse so the salt content is not high. I use a K.C. rub and in the smoker for 2 hrs using applewood for smoke. Deep fry @375F for 8-10 minutes and toss is a chili sauce that is low sodium. Frank's is nothing but salt so I make my own sauce or buy a low sodium chili sauce. Now this is a secret, so don't tell anyone
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Casa Grande, Arizona, USA
Living In: Sutcliffe, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
I followed the recipe and I must say these are very good! I like the just right amount of heat for my taste buds. Definately a keeper!! Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cliff G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loris, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Santee, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
WHILE it says buffalo wings, it does not seem like the ones I had while in that city. the ones that I so enjoyed has a somewhat sweet taste at first then they bite you after. i tried for years to make them even close. I found only one other place and that was in S.Jersey. they must have stolen the recepie from buffalo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe Township, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Now this is how we make wings in Buffalo! Simple cooking method and a few ingredients. Don't forget to serve with blue cheese dressing, my favorite is Marie's, and serve celery sticks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cheektowaga, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
This exact recipe, ,excluding the garlic powder, has been around for a long time. I have been making this recipe for about 18 years. They are my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Island, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
To Rich, she never said it was a secret she just mentioned that she never gave out the recipe before. What is your problem...They tasted wonderful and will make again and again, it is a keeper. And much easier that your way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Goodbar

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
While this is a good basic recipe for Buffalo wings I would tweak the recipe by adding honey. I love the contrast between HOT and Sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
We have been making these wings for years. They come out great every time. Adjust the heat to your liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
The video shows the addition of red pepper flakes but I don't see it here in the recipe. Can someone tell me the real recipe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tejay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cypress, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scott’s Famous Chicken Wings

Watch a Buffalo native reveal his secret recipe for authentic chicken wings.

Buffalo Chicken Wings III

These baked wings get an extra flavor kick from cayenne pepper.

How to Eat Chicken Wings

See a great trick for slipping the bones from cooked chicken wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States