Scott's Coast-to-Coast Famous Chicken Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Made precisely as directed, following the cook's notes for "hot" wings, these were interesting and tasted ok, but were not at all what I expect when I want Buffalo Wings. The black pepper seemed very out of place, both in texture and taste. Same with the red pepper flakes. I expect buffalo wing sauce to be smooth in texture and hot in flavor. Fortunately I also made a standard batch of sauce... butter+Frank's(+habanero poweder+cayenne powder for extra kick). Interesting, but not what we were looking for. Will not make again. Thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
These are fabulous hot wings - have taken them to several parties and everyone who likes their wings hot enjoyed them. If you do not like them hot, not for you. My son drank 2 glasses of milk after eating them and he never drinks milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
I am born and raised in Buffalo, NY and this is not the best recipe for wings. REAL wings use only equal parts of Frank's Hot Sauce (no substitites allowed) and butter for mild sauce. That's it - just Franks and butter. To make them hotter, increase the amount of Franks. This is how the best pizzarias make them in Buffalo, and for the record, Anchor Bar has good wings but not the BEST wings in Buffalo - there are plenty of neighborhood pizzarias and bars that make way better wings!! And you coat the wings by swirling them around in a metal mixing bowl with plenty of sauce after they have been fried - and in Buffalo, they are NEVER NEVER served with ranch dressing - REAL Buffalo wings are served with Blue cheese dressing and celery!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
I learned to make wings the same way from a friend who ran a catering business. I do used minced garlic instead of garlic powder, but the recipe is the same otherwise. This concoction is a little piece of heaven paired with chunky bleu cheese dressing. As they say, you can't have just one! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I have never reviewed a recipe on here before. THIS IS THE BEST! I made it last weekend and my husband and son requested it again this weekend. So I just made a batch. Thank you so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Oh man! These were really good. I pan fried them in about 1/4 inch of peanut oil for 10 minutes per side. Much better than using an entire gallon of peanut oil and this got the wings good and crispy. For the sauce, I added 1 tsp of red pepper flakes, which for me left the wings fairly spicy. This isn't a traditional Buffalo Wing sauce, but is still really good. I liked the garlic flavor in addition to the heat from the red pepper flakes, Frank's RedHot and black pepper. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Franks straight up( with the garlic powder & pepper) is the way to do it. The butter takes away some of the zip of the hot sauce. Takes away the "hot" in hot wings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This recipe is pretty basic with most wing cooks. I on the other hand jazz them up with the Frank's hot sauce, or you can use your favorite. Add the juice of 1/2 a lemon juice and garlic. If you want to mello the flavor, add a half a stick of butter. Heat all those ingredients up togetherand pour over the wings when they come out of the peanut oil. If you really want to have what I call "rip your lips off hot" add a small amount of chilli powder and or cayanne to that mix. Now your talkin' cookin' HOTWINGS, "GMAN" style.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gman's cookin'

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This is for Tejay. Although the INGREDIENTS section of the recipe does not mention red pepper flakes the COOK'S FOOTNOTES at the bottom of the recipe does. It merely is a variation of sauce ingredients you can use to adjust heat level. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Red Hat Milli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
The video shows the addition of red pepper flakes but I don't see it here in the recipe. Can someone tell me the real recipe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tejay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cypress, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scott’s Famous Chicken Wings

Watch a Buffalo native reveal his secret recipe for authentic chicken wings.

Buffalo Chicken Wings III

These baked wings get an extra flavor kick from cayenne pepper.

How to Eat Chicken Wings

See a great trick for slipping the bones from cooked chicken wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States