Scott's Coast-to-Coast Famous Chicken Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
This is my husband's wing recipe, too. Peanut oil is really the only way to go. Crispier wings and the flavor just can't be beat. I don't like wings usually but these are MONEY. Try them for yourself and you'll see.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
I am born and raised in Buffalo, NY and this is not the best recipe for wings. REAL wings use only equal parts of Frank's Hot Sauce (no substitites allowed) and butter for mild sauce. That's it - just Franks and butter. To make them hotter, increase the amount of Franks. This is how the best pizzarias make them in Buffalo, and for the record, Anchor Bar has good wings but not the BEST wings in Buffalo - there are plenty of neighborhood pizzarias and bars that make way better wings!! And you coat the wings by swirling them around in a metal mixing bowl with plenty of sauce after they have been fried - and in Buffalo, they are NEVER NEVER served with ranch dressing - REAL Buffalo wings are served with Blue cheese dressing and celery!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Oh man! These were really good. I pan fried them in about 1/4 inch of peanut oil for 10 minutes per side. Much better than using an entire gallon of peanut oil and this got the wings good and crispy. For the sauce, I added 1 tsp of red pepper flakes, which for me left the wings fairly spicy. This isn't a traditional Buffalo Wing sauce, but is still really good. I liked the garlic flavor in addition to the heat from the red pepper flakes, Frank's RedHot and black pepper. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Nothing secret about this recipe. I brine my wings for a day, then rinse so the salt content is not high. I use a K.C. rub and in the smoker for 2 hrs using applewood for smoke. Deep fry @375F for 8-10 minutes and toss is a chili sauce that is low sodium. Frank's is nothing but salt so I make my own sauce or buy a low sodium chili sauce. Now this is a secret, so don't tell anyone
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Casa Grande, Arizona, USA
Living In: Sutcliffe, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
While this is a good basic recipe for Buffalo wings I would tweak the recipe by adding honey. I love the contrast between HOT and Sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
Loved the recipe. @mimihouse27 its very distasteful to make comments on here that are so demeaning. If you really watched the video and read Scotts notes you could comprehend better. He stated the Anchor bar started the wings not the best, he plated with celery and blue cheese not ranch as you claimed. Review the facts and please watch the video again, clearly you missed it meaning you probably didn't follow directions. As you know this is a recipe site however he makes his wings is HIS way. Don't like it just say that and move on. Scott my daughter loved your wings and thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
To Rich, she never said it was a secret she just mentioned that she never gave out the recipe before. What is your problem...They tasted wonderful and will make again and again, it is a keeper. And much easier that your way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Goodbar

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
I learned to make wings the same way from a friend who ran a catering business. I do used minced garlic instead of garlic powder, but the recipe is the same otherwise. This concoction is a little piece of heaven paired with chunky bleu cheese dressing. As they say, you can't have just one! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This recipe is pretty basic with most wing cooks. I on the other hand jazz them up with the Frank's hot sauce, or you can use your favorite. Add the juice of 1/2 a lemon juice and garlic. If you want to mello the flavor, add a half a stick of butter. Heat all those ingredients up togetherand pour over the wings when they come out of the peanut oil. If you really want to have what I call "rip your lips off hot" add a small amount of chilli powder and or cayanne to that mix. Now your talkin' cookin' HOTWINGS, "GMAN" style.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gman's cookin'

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Now this is how we make wings in Buffalo! Simple cooking method and a few ingredients. Don't forget to serve with blue cheese dressing, my favorite is Marie's, and serve celery sticks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cheektowaga, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scott’s Famous Chicken Wings

Watch a Buffalo native reveal his secret recipe for authentic chicken wings.

Buffalo Chicken Wings III

These baked wings get an extra flavor kick from cayenne pepper.

How to Eat Chicken Wings

See a great trick for slipping the bones from cooked chicken wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States