Scott's Coast-to-Coast Famous Chicken Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Just got done stuffing my gullet. Feeling like an angel who found his wings. I too used the pan-fry method and had great results. I'm wondering if tossing them in a wok would work well also?? Maybe something to try next time! Anyways, fabulous!~!~! yummmm....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage, Michigan, USA
Living In: Schoolcraft, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
I thought these wings were great, and so has everyone I've served them to the past few times I've made this. I've never been to Buffalo so don't know what people expect to taste there. I live in SoCal and we have pretty much every kind of wings you could want here. This has a good taste even if it may not be "traditional" as some reviewers have suggested. I make the equivalent of 12 servings which is triple the recipe amount to take to potlucks and parties. The only thing I change as far as ingredient amounts is that for the triple batch I only use 1/2 cup butter. While I cook the wings in a turkey fryer I leave the butter warm on the stove with the granulated garlic, pepper and red pepper mixed in to help the flavors combine even more before adding the Frank's and tossing with the wings. The recipe is easy and delicious. I'd say the hardest thing about this recipe is sectioning the wings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stiritup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Whittier, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Cooked these on Super-Bowl Sunday and was loved by all. I did use Franks thick pepper sauce because the store was out of the regular. The wings turned out just like the restaurant wings we are used too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
This is an awesome recipe. The family and friends loved it! No more buying frozen wings!!! No changes to the recipe except I didn't use a gallon of peanut oil, just half a gallon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
This recipe was very very good! The first time I made wings at home besides the Tyson brand from Coscos! We really enjoyed this recipe however it was a bit hot for us and we do like hot! So next time I will not add the 1 T of red pepper flakes and see if that suites us better! But I will definitely make again!! Yummy.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
They tasted like something you would get at a restaurant
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Easy and got raves
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
TIP: It takes a lo-oong time to heat one gallon of oil to 375. Factor this into your cooking time! The results were quite tasty. They didn't turn out as crispy as when I get them at restaurants tho. Also, peanut oil is pretty expensive and I saved the oil to use again. The second time I made these, I decreased the amount of butter in the sauce. These are wings for folks serious about making them authentically.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ad-lib Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
Loved the recipe. @mimihouse27 its very distasteful to make comments on here that are so demeaning. If you really watched the video and read Scotts notes you could comprehend better. He stated the Anchor bar started the wings not the best, he plated with celery and blue cheese not ranch as you claimed. Review the facts and please watch the video again, clearly you missed it meaning you probably didn't follow directions. As you know this is a recipe site however he makes his wings is HIS way. Don't like it just say that and move on. Scott my daughter loved your wings and thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
So sue me...For a shortcut...I bought Bonanza's (restaruant) Wings that were breaded and finished and ready to eat. Bring them home-make Scott's sauce and toss these wings in the sauce. The breaded wings really catch the sauce. Makes this a very easy and wonderful dish for Superbowl parties. These are very much like Hooters wings! I really loved those when we were able to get them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scott’s Famous Chicken Wings

Watch a Buffalo native reveal his secret recipe for authentic chicken wings.

Buffalo Chicken Wings III

These baked wings get an extra flavor kick from cayenne pepper.

How to Eat Chicken Wings

See a great trick for slipping the bones from cooked chicken wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States