Scott's Buffalo Wing Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I was hesitant about the recipe, but tried it anyways. It is now a family favorite. Everyone liked this over the hundreds of store bought, dry ingredient packages and internet recipes we have painsakingly tried. The ketchup seemed freaky, but you cannot tell it is in there. I did make one TINY adjustment - threw a dash of BBQ sauce (not more than a squirt - 3 Tbsp) which was great. I like the sauce to 'stick' to the wings more and think next time cutting the butter down a tad to see if that helps. This definately is a keeper! Cool Beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Very good wing sauce just the way it is. I tend to like a honey barbeque sauce, but my husband prefers a little more spice. I decided to try this recipe and it suited both of us! Will definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
This recipe is much better than plain hot sauce and butter. The sweetness from the ketchup and honey cuts a lot of the acidity from the hot sauce. The only change I made was to increase the amount of hot sauce and add some cayenne because I like spicy buffalo wings. Great basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
Very good!!!!!! I made this sauce to docter up some wings that I got at the local pizza place. They were great!! I would not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by subcook732

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ionia, Michigan, USA
Living In: Laingsburg, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
Great poured over chicken or for dipping. I had a bag of breaded chicken that I baked and dipped into this sauce. Very easy - ingredients I had on hang - and satisfied my urge for some buffalo chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
I used even less hot sauce for the kids and added a shake of garlic powder on a whim. They gobbled them up! I liked this sauce because it still tastes like wing sauce without being overly spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geekOphile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
this is very good easy to make and store
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
very nice sauce! i have been looking for a great buffalo wing sauce for years and this one's THE ONE! love it. next time, i'll substitute brown sugar for the honey and will use a less butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
Typically I prefer a pretty spicy wing, and if you're looking for a hot and spicy wing sauce this isn't it. But If you like wings in general this sauce has outstanding flavor!!!! The ketchup is virtually undetectable it just help make it thicker and the honey gives it a real nice sweetness with just enough pepper sauce to give it some warmth. Not a hot wing sauce but it has real great flavor!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cubsnbears

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
We go to a local restaurant that serves the most amazing hot wings. The sauce is addicting. This sauce is definetly the sauce this restaurant uses. It is spicy without the overpowering taste from the hot sauce with just a hint of sweetness. I can't believe I found this recipe. AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

Lemon Caper Butter Sauce

See how to make a simple, classic French butter sauce with lemon and capers.

Easy Balsamic Black Butter Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a simple but impressive balsamic and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States