Scott's Buffalo Wing Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
HELPFUL TIPS THAT MAKE THIS WORK FOR ME: Say NO to BUTTER!!! lol After trying the most popular wings recipes on this site, I got the baking down (350 for 45 min, take out and re-spray w/pam to make crispy, then 375 for 15 min) .........but I was not satisfied w/the hot sauce! No matter what I added or reduced, it still tasted too buttery. I also didn't want hot because we have toddlers in the house who eat them. Well, this recipe was a hit BUT with some minor modifications like NO BUTTER!!! Even when you cut the butter in half, you still can taste it. Plus it makes the sauce slide off the wings. I add about 2T ketchup or a tad more to the 2T honey and 1/3C hot sauce of any kind. The ketchup and honey really cut down on it being hot ...like the butter would but w/o adding the unneeded GREASE! They stick real nicely too! I love them!!! So if you keep thinking something is just not right, try my suggestions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
Having been born and raised in Western NY, this is the closest recipe I have seen that matches a basic wing sauce. It's a great base and allows for multiple alterations. My wife generally just uses the butter and hot sauce (specifically Franks, it seems to be the best for wings.) But after you make the base, you can do just about anything to flavor it. Teriyaki sauce is a good additive, garlic is ALWAYS great, honey is a good sweetener and tends to bring out the flavor, as does brown sugar although you should start small. (Like about a tbsp for this size batch.) But if you're looking for the way we like 'em back home in Buffalo, this is it. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marc

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
Typically I prefer a pretty spicy wing, and if you're looking for a hot and spicy wing sauce this isn't it. But If you like wings in general this sauce has outstanding flavor!!!! The ketchup is virtually undetectable it just help make it thicker and the honey gives it a real nice sweetness with just enough pepper sauce to give it some warmth. Not a hot wing sauce but it has real great flavor!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cubsnbears

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Here are a few tips from making this sauce so many times. - The sauce tastes best with Franks Redhot sauce, and Heinz ketchup. Make sure not to skip the honey. -The longer you let the sauce simmer, the thicker it will get. - Depending on the brand of butter or margarine you use, sometimes the the oil likes to seperate from the rest of the sauce. In these instances I use a small bat powered milk frother to mix the sauce(a hand immersion blender should work fine also). -If you like a hotter sauce, use equal parts butter, ketchup, and hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
We go to a local restaurant that serves the most amazing hot wings. The sauce is addicting. This sauce is definetly the sauce this restaurant uses. It is spicy without the overpowering taste from the hot sauce with just a hint of sweetness. I can't believe I found this recipe. AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Great simple recipe, I fried my wings (with no batter) cooked the ingredients as directed and tossed the wings in the sauce. I didn't measure exactly and may have added too much honey, but my hubby loved them and I will definitely come back to this one again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsAdams

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
This recipe is much better than plain hot sauce and butter. The sweetness from the ketchup and honey cuts a lot of the acidity from the hot sauce. The only change I made was to increase the amount of hot sauce and add some cayenne because I like spicy buffalo wings. Great basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Very good wing sauce just the way it is. I tend to like a honey barbeque sauce, but my husband prefers a little more spice. I decided to try this recipe and it suited both of us! Will definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I was hesitant about the recipe, but tried it anyways. It is now a family favorite. Everyone liked this over the hundreds of store bought, dry ingredient packages and internet recipes we have painsakingly tried. The ketchup seemed freaky, but you cannot tell it is in there. I did make one TINY adjustment - threw a dash of BBQ sauce (not more than a squirt - 3 Tbsp) which was great. I like the sauce to 'stick' to the wings more and think next time cutting the butter down a tad to see if that helps. This definately is a keeper! Cool Beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
4 ingredients + personal imagination = 1 great sauce!! Scott's recipe is great as-is for wings. I changed the proportions of the ingredients a little and added chopped garlic when making Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches out of chopped cooked chicken. (1/2 cup each of Frank's and Heinz, 2Tbs butter, healthy Tbs of honey, and one minced garlic clove.) Serve on a bun, or dinner rolls for a fun snack! Thanks Scott -- this one's a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by E J

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Marion, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Balsamic Black Butter Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a simple but impressive balsamic and butter sauce.

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

Lemon Caper Butter Sauce

See how to make a simple, classic French butter sauce with lemon and capers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States