Scott's Buffalo Wing Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 30, 2011
I made this sauce exactly as listed at first. It tasted like spicy tomato soup. My husband agreed. The good thing is that it is very easy to modify - which we did - and ended up with a great sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Effingham, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
As my husband does not do any thing hot,I have used a Ti.sweet chile sauce for the Asia market works great.Iris Lady
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Iris Lady

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Very tsty! I followed the recipe exactly (something I rarely do) and doubled it for the dish I was preparing. The taste is definitely more of a "sweet heat" than a "scorching heat", the sweetness of the ketchup and honey is very present. The sweetness is what I really enjoyed - I like the way it balances the hot sauce. This can easily be altered for hotter tastes by increasing the hot sauce and/or decreasing the amount of ketchup. Next time, I might try half the amount of butter as there IS a lot of grease to this; but the butter does add to the deliciousness! Thanks Scott!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadaFun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Great sauce! The recipe as written is wonderful. We like it with a little more heat so will increase the hot sauce to 1/2 cup. For people having issues with the butter being too oily, make sure you wisk the sauce completely to combine. Once you do this the consistency is perfect. You can use this sauce as a base and add garlic, onion powder, etc. to create other flavors also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
veryy good EASY wing sauce !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
I can't have it, I'm allergic to cayenne, but my husband says this is wonderful! I skip the butter, as previous posters have suggested, and discovered something. . . when you drop the butter, there is no fat at all! He says it's wonderful! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Higginbotham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Buckeye, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
This sauce is amazing! The more honey/sugar you add, the milder it gets. I use this at least once a month instead of eating at a restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iamchristyl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
This was great especially for my family as we don't like the hot stuff. I did as another review suggested and leave out most of the butter (cut down to 2tbls) and I doubled the ketchup and honey so I had enought sauce for the amount of wings I had. I would definetly make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
the taste is WAY too ketchup-y. I actually had to doctor it up to try to make it taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
This was delicious. I made a double recipe using 1/2 cup butter, 2/3 cup hot pepper sauce, 2/3 cup ketchup and 4 tablespoons honey. I didn't double the butter-didn't need too. I will keep this recipe handy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah K Campbell Youmans
Home Town: Chittenango, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

Lemon Caper Butter Sauce

See how to make a simple, classic French butter sauce with lemon and capers.

Easy Balsamic Black Butter Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a simple but impressive balsamic and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States