Scott's Buffalo Wing Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
i second guessed making this because of the ketchup, but if i didn't know, i wouldn't have guessed it was anything but good, old fashioned buffalo wing sauce. very good. will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeatherMaven

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
This is not the worst suce recipe bu it's not great. Tastes too much like ketchup and too greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Max

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
I made this sauce for my Husband last night. He wanted Buffalo chicken Pizza and I had no sauce on hand but I had everything on hand for this recipe. We used Tabassco sauce for the hot sauce and he REALLY liked it. Thanks for the Great recipe - and Easy Recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Here are a few tips from making this sauce so many times. - The sauce tastes best with Franks Redhot sauce, and Heinz ketchup. Make sure not to skip the honey. -The longer you let the sauce simmer, the thicker it will get. - Depending on the brand of butter or margarine you use, sometimes the the oil likes to seperate from the rest of the sauce. In these instances I use a small bat powered milk frother to mix the sauce(a hand immersion blender should work fine also). -If you like a hotter sauce, use equal parts butter, ketchup, and hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
it was awesome everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELDOE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Caldwell, Idaho, USA
Living In: Vernonia, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
HELPFUL TIPS THAT MAKE THIS WORK FOR ME: Say NO to BUTTER!!! lol After trying the most popular wings recipes on this site, I got the baking down (350 for 45 min, take out and re-spray w/pam to make crispy, then 375 for 15 min) .........but I was not satisfied w/the hot sauce! No matter what I added or reduced, it still tasted too buttery. I also didn't want hot because we have toddlers in the house who eat them. Well, this recipe was a hit BUT with some minor modifications like NO BUTTER!!! Even when you cut the butter in half, you still can taste it. Plus it makes the sauce slide off the wings. I add about 2T ketchup or a tad more to the 2T honey and 1/3C hot sauce of any kind. The ketchup and honey really cut down on it being hot ...like the butter would but w/o adding the unneeded GREASE! They stick real nicely too! I love them!!! So if you keep thinking something is just not right, try my suggestions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Thought there was too much butter. Was good enough though, that I'll try it again using about half as much butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
Very good!!!!!! I made this sauce to docter up some wings that I got at the local pizza place. They were great!! I would not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by subcook732

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ionia, Michigan, USA
Living In: Laingsburg, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
Great poured over chicken or for dipping. I had a bag of breaded chicken that I baked and dipped into this sauce. Very easy - ingredients I had on hang - and satisfied my urge for some buffalo chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
This recipe is much better than plain hot sauce and butter. The sweetness from the ketchup and honey cuts a lot of the acidity from the hot sauce. The only change I made was to increase the amount of hot sauce and add some cayenne because I like spicy buffalo wings. Great basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

Lemon Caper Butter Sauce

See how to make a simple, classic French butter sauce with lemon and capers.

Easy Balsamic Black Butter Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a simple but impressive balsamic and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States