Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Really liked this recipe! Turned out light and moist. I used 1 stick butter and 1 stick margerine and creamed them with the suger for probably about 10 min. like other reviewers suggested. I used the cake flour as listed. I mixed in the flour and milk in by hand (meaning didn't use electric mixer) and tried not to over-stir. I did use 3/4 cup of flour because some people said they didn't think it was sweet enough. Might try adding some dry pudding mix to the recipe next time, just to see what that does.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Living In: Sumner, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elliott the Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Wonderful cake! I made cupcakes--the recipe as posted made 24. I overbaked them a bit; 16-17 minutes probably would have ben perfect. This will be my go-to yellow cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I cut this recipe in half and baked in in a round non-stick tie pin, sprayed with coconut oil. Other than that, i used one-half of 1/3 C. of (very thick) homemade buttermilk (and the rest was just milk; I think a little yogurt replacement would have the same effect as the buttermilk). I kept in in the oven for about 33 minutes at 350 and it came out moist and VERY yummy, neither under- nor overcooked. My 2-year-old was on the upswing from a tummy virus so I made this at his request as soon as he asked. And now he's requesting more. This is just great, and I'll definitley use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I made this cake for Christmas. I modified it alittle by adding instant vanilla pudding.The batter whipped up nice and fluffy. The cake was good, but not as moist as I wanted it to be. Next time I will add more milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Arnold

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Everybody loved this moist cake. It CAN go with any kind of frosting icing etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luda Bard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
This cake was good, however dense and dry. I added mini chocolate chips and it was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Quick, easy and delicious. Since finding this recipe, I have not made any other cake. Thank you for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I added a little more milk, one more egg, 1/4 cup oil, and creamed the sugar & butter for almost 10 minutes. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
so easy to make. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States