Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
This is an exellent alternative to a box mix! Its simple to make, looks a beautiful golden brown color when done. The taste isnt out of this world, but still pretty good as is, and is really moist. It has a dense texture, while still feeling fairly light to eat. I made into a 9x9 square cake, and 12 cupcakes. Topped with a Nutella buttercream. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Nicole Patton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I tried this recipe for the first time. It came out alright but more like a bread or scone. Very thick, not moist or spongy like cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Very buttery! Nice, moist texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
no rating Frisbies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Essex Junction, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
I used it once and everyone loved it. this is as easy as easy could get and I already had everything I needed in the house to make it. I will be using it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina M

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
I tried making this cake and It wasn't what I had expected. It was dry and Didn't have a very good flavor I'll never make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Banning, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
Perfect, no changes needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robcangel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
I've made this many times, best yellow cake recipe I have ever found. I think using sifted cake flour gives the best result.. I hate sifting flour but it definitely makes a difference! Moist and fluffy cake, just how I like it! The most recent time I made this I added 1.5 tsp of vanilla (3.5 tsp total) to get a strong vanilla flavor. I like a strong vanilla flavor in my cakes, so this was the perfect amount. I made cupcakes, a full recipe makes 24 cupcakes, I baked for 27 minutes at 350, but I think my oven is not quite right, so this time may not work for everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
Awesome cake...I was craving cake and realized I didn't have any mixes so I searched for a recipe online and came across this one. I just made it and it came out great, I don't know what other reviewers are talking about it being heavy and/or dry. Mine came out perfect. I added some coconut to the batter and I'm going to frost it with coconut frosting. I'll never buy another yellow cake mix again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
I did NOT like this recipe. I tried it out for a friends birthday cake and was sorely disappointed. I will never use it again. The flavor was off, it tasted more like a dry pound cake then a moist yellow cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McKennacat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paw Paw, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States