Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
I used it once and everyone loved it. this is as easy as easy could get and I already had everything I needed in the house to make it. I will be using it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina M

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
I tried making this cake and It wasn't what I had expected. It was dry and Didn't have a very good flavor I'll never make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Banning, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
Perfect, no changes needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robcangel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
I've made this many times, best yellow cake recipe I have ever found. I think using sifted cake flour gives the best result.. I hate sifting flour but it definitely makes a difference! Moist and fluffy cake, just how I like it! The most recent time I made this I added 1.5 tsp of vanilla (3.5 tsp total) to get a strong vanilla flavor. I like a strong vanilla flavor in my cakes, so this was the perfect amount. I made cupcakes, a full recipe makes 24 cupcakes, I baked for 27 minutes at 350, but I think my oven is not quite right, so this time may not work for everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
Awesome cake...I was craving cake and realized I didn't have any mixes so I searched for a recipe online and came across this one. I just made it and it came out great, I don't know what other reviewers are talking about it being heavy and/or dry. Mine came out perfect. I added some coconut to the batter and I'm going to frost it with coconut frosting. I'll never buy another yellow cake mix again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
I did NOT like this recipe. I tried it out for a friends birthday cake and was sorely disappointed. I will never use it again. The flavor was off, it tasted more like a dry pound cake then a moist yellow cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McKennacat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paw Paw, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
This cake turned out very heavy and tasted like flour or bland like corn bread. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
The flavor was okay, but not exceptional. My major problem was that mine came out tough and a little dry. I didn't use cake flour however, and I realize that this may have been part of the problem. I may have overmixed it as well, but I really didn't mix it that much, perhaps slightly beyond when it came together. I made it into a layer cake because I saw that several other people had, however it cracked a bit. The best thing about this cake was that it was easy to frost, not all crumby and fragile on the outside like many cakes are. Also, it stuck to the pan a bit and I lost a chunk of one of the layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Well to be honest I haven't tasted it yet; but I rated this recipe a five because of the simple ingredients that I already have on hand. I had not plan to make a cake at 10:00 pm. Yet here I am with a cake in the oven. (Better than a bun :))) Will finish the ratings tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela G. Harris

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
I always get rave reviews when making this recipe. I can't count the number of times I've been told it's the best cake someone has ever had. It's great for sheet cakes or as layers. A nice rich buttercream, either chocolate or vanilla, pairs nicely with it. Be sure to sift the dry ingredients together. Otherwise, it can be very dense. But even then, it tastes marvelous. It's my go-to cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States