Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I made this into cupcakes for my son's first birthday party. He loved it! For cupcakes I cooked them at 350 degrees for about 22 minutes and they were perfect. I got lots of compliments. Way better than boxed cake mix! I also used the "Butter Cream Frosting II" recipe here on allrecipes for the frosting. It was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Excellent basic cake recipe. A little on the dense side, but that's perfect for me because I was using it to sculpt a train cake for a birthday party. Simple, easy to make, and not too "eggy". Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
This turned out beautifully! I made it for a pineapple upside down cake. I used 1/2c butter 1/2c shortening and added 3 tbsp of oil and creamed it for about 10 mins. Added eggs one at a time mixing well after each then fold in flour and milk careful not to over mix. I made this for a family dinner, everyone was surprised at how good it tasted. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TC

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
This is an exellent alternative to a box mix! Its simple to make, looks a beautiful golden brown color when done. The taste isnt out of this world, but still pretty good as is, and is really moist. It has a dense texture, while still feeling fairly light to eat. I made into a 9x9 square cake, and 12 cupcakes. Topped with a Nutella buttercream. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristinpatton987

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I tried this recipe for the first time. It came out alright but more like a bread or scone. Very thick, not moist or spongy like cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Very buttery! Nice, moist texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
no rating Frisbies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Essex Junction, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
I used it once and everyone loved it. this is as easy as easy could get and I already had everything I needed in the house to make it. I will be using it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina M

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
I tried making this cake and It wasn't what I had expected. It was dry and Didn't have a very good flavor I'll never make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Banning, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
Perfect, no changes needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robcangel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States