Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Thank goodness! I have been trying to make cakes from scratch for a while and have not had much sucess until I found this recipe! I followed the recipe but made a few small changes after reading the reviews. I used 3 eggs instead of 2. However, next time I might use only 2. Instead of butter I used shortening. Other than that I followed everything else as written. I could tell right away that this cake was going to be light and fluffy! I will be making this cake more often. Yeah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mindy100

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Today, I was itching to make a Yellow Cake for my family. I came across this recipe, my family and I loved it. The cake is moist, and taste really good. If you want a basic, good tasting cake try this on. Quick and Easy!!!! Enjoy.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I am sooo impressed with this recipe! I tried baking cakes from scratch before, but they never quite came out right. This cake is moist, fluffy and delicious. It didn't stick to my pans at all (which most boxed cake mixes usually do). I took the suggestions of others and used 3 eggs/all purpose flour. I will definitely use this recipe again and again. I always have the ingredients on hand, so this will be standard cake mix. Thanks so much Scottley!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zZaMaMa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
I made this cake for the second time, forgetting how disappointed I was the first time. This cake has way too much flour, has no taste and is overall a big flop. I had enough batter to make a two layer cake, and 12 cupcakes. I think I will remember not to use this recipe again. Used it only because it was the first recipe to come up when I search for a basic yellow cake and it did look to be quick and easy. I cannot really even rate it to deserve one star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
THis is great!!!! So moist! Even after sitting out at a tailgate! GREAT! Didn't change a thing, and even doubled it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
This was a really good cake, I added the oil and it was so moist and flavorful, my new fav
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
I followed directions exactly! This cake turned out wonderful for frosting, and did not taste bad (nothing like cornbread, where do people get this?) The only thing I thought was wrong with it was how bland it was to me? But this maybe because I have never had, much less made a cake from scratch! My only suggestion would be to add more flavoring or sugar perhaps? I'm a new baker and do not know how to add sugar and flavoring without messing the whole thing up? Any suggestions?!?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibbyCorysMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
I was looking for a cake from scratch recipe. I tried this recipe because it had rave reviews. I made it three times, and every time it was extremely dry. The comments that I got were that the taste was good, but it was too dry. I myself felt that it was too heavy (not light or airy) despite whipping the butter and sugar and sifting the flour. I do believe that this could be a good pound cake recipe or may serve as a "tres leches" cake base. I will try it again but will add more milk/water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by almalunita
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Amazingly moist and just the right amount of density! I cut the ingredients in half because all I had was one 10x10. Used 125 grams (a little over 1/2 cup) butter, since butter often comes in 250 gram blocks in Czech. and I just cut it in half. I also used 2 eggs and added one tablespoon of veggie oil since there were some comments about moistness. I also added a bit more sugar (less than 1/4 cup) because I forgot and added the sugar in with the flour mixture rather than with the butter as instructed, so I used it to help whip the butter. In my opinion it needed that extra sugar to be a little more sweet. I also don't have an electric beater yet so I let the butter reach room temperature and whipped it with a fork, it's hard work but it turns out just fine! I had some instant chocolate frosting and swirled it into the batter before baking, it came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
This is a great recipe! I read all of the reviews before so I put in 3 eggs and a little extra milk. Next time I make this I won't cook it as long. At the most 35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mellysmom

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West Haven, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States