Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
I was really excited to try this recipe. However, I was very disappointed when I tried the cake because it did not taste like yellow cake. It tastes more like a sugar cookie. It was very sweet . Although it did not taste like yellow cake, it was VERY VERY soft and moist . Others may enjoy this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I thought this was a very good cake batter. Its excellent for adding fruit to!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
It tasted fantastic but it fell while cooling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
This is the best from-scratch yellow cake I have found.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
I really liked this recipe! Doesn't look like anything special from ingredients, but it was moist and very tasty!! Quick and easy and had all ingredients in my pantry. I added about 2 tablespoons of olive oil last minute to the batter and it helped Im sure of it. I will use this recipe over and over again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lyric1
Reviewed: May 26, 2014
It was an absolute hit! The directions were very easy to follow and took no time. The cake cooked up just right, not too dense, and the perfect sweetness. In fact, I just made this tonight and my boys have made sure that it's already halfway gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
UPDATE|. I made this cake again using cake flour. The batter was much lighter but still very thick. I used 9" pans this time. The cake did not rise very much this time either. The flavor was just as good. So...I am still on the fence. 1st review: I'm on the fence with this recipe. The taste was good. I whipped the butter and sugar (butter was room temp) until it was very very fluffy. Next time I would not use 9" cake pans. They turned out pretty flat. The cake batter was VERY thick. I was very hesitant. With the exception of using all purpose flour, I followed the recipe to a T. I will make again and will use cake flour next time. Overall it was a good recipe---definitely better than a box mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kisavirgo
Photo by andrea
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
My family loved it! We added our own sprinkles to the mix and made into Easter muffins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
The cake taste good and I followed the recipe to the exact ingredient but the cake didn't really rise. Maybe its me or maybe it's missing baking soda as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Love it! I use it for every cake from pineapple up-side down cake to lemon, strawberry, chocolate cupcakes. I even use it for the base of my rum and Irish cream cakes. And they all get rave reviews! thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsQtpi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States