Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
This was a great, simple recipe. No complaints. I might add a little sugar next time and a tad more vanilla. Very light and fluffy. Definitely a keeper. Thank you soo much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dahneshia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Maine, USA
Living In: Mechanic Falls, Maine, USA
Photo by Mili T.
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Excellent! My munchkin & Bo love this cake. I make this recipe as cupcakes, and it's a hit every time! I swirl in with a tooth pick a lil dab of Hershey's syrup for lil extra flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mili T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Good cake recipe but not quite as rich as I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catlady
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
I tried this recipe and I'm not impressed. I agree with other posters that it is a very good sponge cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
I was really excited to try this recipe. However, I was very disappointed when I tried the cake because it did not taste like yellow cake. It tastes more like a sugar cookie. It was very sweet . Although it did not taste like yellow cake, it was VERY VERY soft and moist . Others may enjoy this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I thought this was a very good cake batter. Its excellent for adding fruit to!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
It tasted fantastic but it fell while cooling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
This is the best from-scratch yellow cake I have found.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
I really liked this recipe! Doesn't look like anything special from ingredients, but it was moist and very tasty!! Quick and easy and had all ingredients in my pantry. I added about 2 tablespoons of olive oil last minute to the batter and it helped Im sure of it. I will use this recipe over and over again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lyric1
Reviewed: May 26, 2014
It was an absolute hit! The directions were very easy to follow and took no time. The cake cooked up just right, not too dense, and the perfect sweetness. In fact, I just made this tonight and my boys have made sure that it's already halfway gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States