Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2005
I LOVE this recipe. I have used this recipe so much (sometimes modified with a bit more sugar) and it never fails me. Its always moist and delicious. It is hearty- definitely not like those "air" boxed cakes. A tip for those that find the cake to grainy or dry: Don't use cake flour! Use all purpose! Put a little more milk in for desired consistency and moistness and by all means when mixing the butter and the sugar together go as long as 10 minutes or until it is smooth. The smoother the butter and egg are the less grainy it will be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxford, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2003
Not to toot my own horn, but this recipe never lets me down. To ensure proper moistness, I'll sometimes add 1/8 to 1/4 cup of a light oil to the batter before baking (especially if the relative humidity is a little on the dry side). I hope you'll find easy, versatile this recipe as tastey as my family and I do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scottley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hartsville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANGELGIRL94
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
I was about to give up on making cakes from scratch until I came across this recipe. This one turned out bakery style moist. I used 3 eggs instead of two and creamed them along with the butter and sugar for 10 minutes. AngieMonty was right,the smoother the butter mixture,the smoother the cake. I also used cake flour and whole milk and baked it in round layers for exactly 40 minutes,the least amount of time called for. I frosted it with chocolate frosting and it disappeared in record time. I have found my cake recipe. Thanks Scottley!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Reidsville, North Carolina, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Oh, my…in my experience this is quite possibly one of the better white cake recipes I’ve tried. In fact, I’d call it perfect, with no need to change anything let alone search for a better recipe. If you follow the directions and cream the butter and sugar to aerate the batter and give it lift, if you add the eggs one at time to keep the batter emulsified, you will get fantastic results, a superior cake. But I think that maybe some inexperienced bakers, wanting to make sure they do it right and “beat the heck” out of the butter and sugar, might actually take it too far – you CAN overbeat a cake batter! The cake is only lightly sweet, but I liked that. I don’t know who would plan to eat this without a rich, sweet frosting, and the two together create the proper creamy, moist, fluffy, sweet lusciousness you want. (And I’m not exaggerating for effect) This is light with a tender crumb – if you need a cake for sculpting or carving this would NOT be a good choice. But if you want a fluffy, light, stick-to-your-fork moist white cake, give Scottley’s a try. I baked this as cupcakes – one-half recipe makes 12 perfect cupcakes. Bake at 350 degrees, 18-20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
This is the best scratch yellow cake recipe I have found so far! I gave it a try despite seeing some poor reviews and was pleasantly surprised. I'm a cake decorator always looking to improve on the cakes I make, and this recipe is my new found winner. I was not disappointed, especially when my customers compliment the cake. I would suggest for the ones who gave this a poor review to give the recipe another try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
This is a very simple recipe and turns out very well. I am not sure why some people have had problems with it. Just a note....all milk is not the same. If you use a skim milk, the cake will be less rich than if using whole milk. I used skim milk and margarine rather than butter. Butter provides a better flavor, but margarine creams better and incorporates more air into the batter. My layers only took 30 minutes to bake...maybe some people over-cooked the cake. As mentioned by another evaluator, the toothpick method is the only sure way of checking for doneness. I do want to mention that if this cake tastes like a cornbread, then honey, you need to try REAL cornbread. Most restaurant cornbread and box mixes taste like cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
I tried this recipe because the items for the recipe were already in my kitchen. I was really surprise how moist and flavorful the cake turn out. I know I will continued to make this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
I had given up on fiding a "from scratch" cake recipe that was moist and delicious - and then I found this recipe!! I only gave it four stars because I did make a few changes to the recipe. I added two tablespoons of vegetqable oil, an extra egg and a small envelope of instant vanilla pudding mix. I've made this recipe twice and my friends can't stop raving about them! I used Wilton's recipe for Buttercream Icing with meringue powder to ice them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dawn marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
This was the best yellow cake ever. I'll never buy a box yellow cake again. I didn't have cake flour so I used all purpose. I'll try again and use cake flour but it is great with all purpose. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
This is NOT an appropriate receipe for most layer cakes. With a little extra sugar it would probably make an excellent pound cake. The batter is extremely heavy, and even after adding a little additional oil and milk, the final result was rather dry and consistent with a pound cake after cooling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States