Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
I tried this recipe because the items for the recipe were already in my kitchen. I was really surprise how moist and flavorful the cake turn out. I know I will continued to make this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2003
Not to toot my own horn, but this recipe never lets me down. To ensure proper moistness, I'll sometimes add 1/8 to 1/4 cup of a light oil to the batter before baking (especially if the relative humidity is a little on the dry side). I hope you'll find easy, versatile this recipe as tastey as my family and I do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scottley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hartsville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2003
I am sure that I did something wrong but I ended up with the layers looking like cornbread. I substituted Splenda for the Sugar and added some powdered milk in addition to everything else called for and it was too dry. In spite of all that, it tasted wonderful. Since I am diabetic, I served one layer of the cake with no sugar added Apricot Jam, and iced the other with a sour cream icing. It really was enjoyable but I will add a little more liquid next time. I am just learning to cook with Splenda so I should do better next time. Barbara
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2004
I made this tonight in a 13x9x2 pan. I think I may have underbaked it just slightly - it was pulling away from the sides and browning on top at 40 minutes, so I took it out. I think it could have used another few minutes. It's very moist, with a rather coarse crumb and an excellent flavor. I would make this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2004
I'm afraid this recipe didn't turn out well at all- the cake tasted stale and dry an hour after it was baked, and it was quite hard. I wouldn't use this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2004
Delicious and moist. Made a pineapple filling for this cake, which made it made it complete.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2004
This cake wasn't bad. I added about 1/8 cup oil to the recipe to make it more moist, and with a chocolate pudding frosting it was pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prairie Du Sac, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Genoa, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LAUGHMYBUTT25
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
This cake is very tasty and fairly easy to make... except when you're trying to forst it. I let it cool completely but once I tried to put the frosting on it, it just crumbled to pieces! It was still very yummy but as far as appearance, it was a mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2005
Wow! Glad I tested this recipe before I gave it to my co-worker for his going away party. He might have been insulted and thought I actually wanted him to leave if I served this cake. I followed the recipe exactly and was very disappointed. I guess my search for a good yellow cake continues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2005
I LOVE this recipe. I have used this recipe so much (sometimes modified with a bit more sugar) and it never fails me. Its always moist and delicious. It is hearty- definitely not like those "air" boxed cakes. A tip for those that find the cake to grainy or dry: Don't use cake flour! Use all purpose! Put a little more milk in for desired consistency and moistness and by all means when mixing the butter and the sugar together go as long as 10 minutes or until it is smooth. The smoother the butter and egg are the less grainy it will be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxford, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States