Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
I love this recipe! I add other flavorings instead of vanilla extract and it's a huge hit! Today I'm making pina colada flavor with white fondant and pina colada flavored decorations
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Very moist cake. We used homemade buttercream frosting, it was so much better than the box, just as easy and definitely worth the calories!!! We're going to use this recipe for a baby shower cake this week-end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
very easy and good! Husband thought it tasted a little like a pancake but I did use allpurpose flour so I blame that :) it wasn't fluffy but it was moist and family loved it including non cake fan 4yo son.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ash

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
I found that this cake was a good base for other things. My son's favorite is pineapple upside down. If you relace 1/3 cup of milk with blendded pineapple, and do the normal buter sugar and pineapple bottom it comes out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
this definitely has an almost pound cake texture. a bit dry without modifications but good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juniper

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
Too heavy for layered caked. Tasted eggy :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
I used this recipe for my very first cupcakes with strawberry frosting. It turned out well as I didn't expect it to have sponge cake or angel food cake texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
I made this cake for my friend's birthday and everyone thought I bought it from a bakery. The best part about this cake would have to be the texture of the batter and the cake and the taste!!! Keeping this recipe forever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzy
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
Perfect cake Recipe!! I had made these super simple cupcakes for my daughter's bday and the kids could not get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TrippyChick

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
yummy and easy - I added a box of french vanilla instant pudding to the butter and sugar and omitted the vanilla extract. It came out moist and delicious, perfect for the strawberries I had planned for it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States