Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Easy to make. I made a 9"x13" cake and it tested done but when I cut it open, it was sort of half cooked. It must have been something I did. Flavor and texture were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
This is the best yellow cake ever. I looked at the reviews before I made it and saw one that mentioned using an extra egg to make it moist. I love a moist cake and used 3 eggs instead of 2. It didn't last 1 whole day. Dessert after dinner in lunches the next day and not enough for everyone to share the 2nd night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
Great cake. I followed the other reviewer's suggestion and added 3 eggs instead of two. I used this recipe to make cookies n cream cupcakes. I reduced the flour to 2 1/4 and added about 10 crushed oreos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
I love this recipe! I add other flavorings instead of vanilla extract and it's a huge hit! Today I'm making pina colada flavor with white fondant and pina colada flavored decorations
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Very moist cake. We used homemade buttercream frosting, it was so much better than the box, just as easy and definitely worth the calories!!! We're going to use this recipe for a baby shower cake this week-end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
very easy and good! Husband thought it tasted a little like a pancake but I did use allpurpose flour so I blame that :) it wasn't fluffy but it was moist and family loved it including non cake fan 4yo son.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ash

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
I found that this cake was a good base for other things. My son's favorite is pineapple upside down. If you relace 1/3 cup of milk with blendded pineapple, and do the normal buter sugar and pineapple bottom it comes out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
this definitely has an almost pound cake texture. a bit dry without modifications but good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juniper

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
Too heavy for layered caked. Tasted eggy :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
I used this recipe for my very first cupcakes with strawberry frosting. It turned out well as I didn't expect it to have sponge cake or angel food cake texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States