Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
Perfect cake Recipe!! I had made these super simple cupcakes for my daughter's bday and the kids could not get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TrippyChick

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
yummy and easy - I added a box of french vanilla instant pudding to the butter and sugar and omitted the vanilla extract. It came out moist and delicious, perfect for the strawberries I had planned for it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Seriously. The. Best. Yellow. Cake. I've. Ever. Had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
I always bake pound cakes and I'm just a beginner but this cake was awesome. Just got it out of the oven and had a piece and I have to say that it was a really nice texture. I changed a couple of things, thanks to other reviews and added 1 and a half cups of almond milk instead, used all purpose flour and salted butter instead of salt and butter. I can't wait to let my friends try it.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Excellent. I made with 1/3 cup oil instead of butter (probably would have been 5 stars with butter), all purpose flour, and soy milk. Light, fluffy, and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Delicious. Better than any cake mix cake I've ever made and I loved that I can use clean ingredients rather than the junk in a mix. Thanks for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
I made it exactly the way the recipe is written. The cake was done after 30 minutes of baking and it tasted awful. Back to the drawing board for a good recipe for Yellow Cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
first of all i'd like to say, i've used many wonderful recipes from allrecipes and this is the first time i've ever left a review. this cake recipe is phenomenal and it's still in the oven! i've never baked a cake from scratch and i have never been inclined to eat raw cake batter, i could not stop licking the bowl! ok, i wanted to follow this one to a 'T' but I had to make some subs: didn't have milk so I used suggested amount half and half. also I didn't have cake flour nor a flour sifter so I used all purpose flour. eggs and half and half were cold (not room temp, as suggested by another reviewer. aside from that, i softened the butter (not marg) in microwave, creamed really well with the sugar, added eggs one at a time, added in vanilla and then blended in half and half. dumped in all dry ingredients, stirred with a spoon, then whisked for 5 minutes. it just came out of the oven and looks amazing. did i mention that the batter was outrageous?! i read all the other reviews and could not for the life of me figure out how people could get so excited over a cake! but now i know- im a believer, Scottley, you rock!!! UPDATE: just had a piece... i will never used a box again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christineb63

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
This was my first cake baked from scratch and it was a success! I followed the suggestions made by other members and added 1 extra egg and 1/4c of milk and it turned out great! I love how it has that light sweet taste - my husband and I cannot stop eating it and we both agreed we could have it WITHOUT any icing/filling because it already tastes good by itself. I only gave 4 stars because I was hoping for it to be much "fluffier", maybe I over-mixed it like the previous reviewer said. This recipe is easy and will definitely use this as my base recipe for future cake projects! Thank you so much Scottley!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
In an effort to avoid box cakemixes and their hydrogenated fats I tried this recipe. OMG! It turned out perfectly. I followed the recipe with the exception of using half and half instead of milk. I find my oven bakes "hot" so I checked at 25 minutes (9.5" pans) and the toothpick came out clean. I will definitely be making this cake again! Happy birthday to my son with a winner of a bday cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deetledee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shamong, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States