Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
very easy and good! Husband thought it tasted a little like a pancake but I did use allpurpose flour so I blame that :) it wasn't fluffy but it was moist and family loved it including non cake fan 4yo son.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ash

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
I found that this cake was a good base for other things. My son's favorite is pineapple upside down. If you relace 1/3 cup of milk with blendded pineapple, and do the normal buter sugar and pineapple bottom it comes out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
this definitely has an almost pound cake texture. a bit dry without modifications but good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juniper

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
Too heavy for layered caked. Tasted eggy :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
I used this recipe for my very first cupcakes with strawberry frosting. It turned out well as I didn't expect it to have sponge cake or angel food cake texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
I made this cake for my friend's birthday and everyone thought I bought it from a bakery. The best part about this cake would have to be the texture of the batter and the cake and the taste!!! Keeping this recipe forever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzy
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
Perfect cake Recipe!! I had made these super simple cupcakes for my daughter's bday and the kids could not get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TrippyChick

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
yummy and easy - I added a box of french vanilla instant pudding to the butter and sugar and omitted the vanilla extract. It came out moist and delicious, perfect for the strawberries I had planned for it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Seriously. The. Best. Yellow. Cake. I've. Ever. Had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
I always bake pound cakes and I'm just a beginner but this cake was awesome. Just got it out of the oven and had a piece and I have to say that it was a really nice texture. I changed a couple of things, thanks to other reviews and added 1 and a half cups of almond milk instead, used all purpose flour and salted butter instead of salt and butter. I can't wait to let my friends try it.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States