Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
I always get rave reviews when making this recipe. I can't count the number of times I've been told it's the best cake someone has ever had. It's great for sheet cakes or as layers. A nice rich buttercream, either chocolate or vanilla, pairs nicely with it. Be sure to sift the dry ingredients together. Otherwise, it can be very dense. But even then, it tastes marvelous. It's my go-to cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
I cut back on the vanilla extract by a teaspoon and added a teaspoon of pure almond extract. Other than that, I kept everything else the same. I baked my cake in a greased 9x13 baking pan. Baked at 350*, my cake was done in just under 40 minutes. This turned out absolutely perfect. No complaints. The boys loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Outstanding! I took others advice and added extra sugar. Instead of 1 and 2/3 cups, I added two cups. I didn't have cake flour so I used white flour instead. I also used a bundt pan instead of two 9 inch rounds, which extended the cook time. I topped it with the Satiny Chocolate Glaze. In a word "YUMMY"! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
great recipe. very fluffy. two words for those people who need their cake to be yellow: food coloring. came out the same color as a cake from a box. I wonder why??? :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
This recipe produces a nice, light, not too sweet yellow cake. Did not change a thing, creamed my butter and sugar for 10 min. The kids like the cake. Although I have to say that I read the reviews before I made this cake, and I was laughing at the reviews that said this tastes like corn bread. But you know what, when I took that first bite, it DID taste like corn bread. And I make my cornbread from scratch. So, nice, fluffy cake, but I don't know why it tastes like corn bread. And I consider myself an experienced baker because I make cakes, bread, pie, cookies, etc all the time. Especially cakes. Edited to add: when it just came out of the oven, the cake tasted like corn bread, after about 2 hours the cake cooled down and it does NOT taste like corn bread anymore. So I changed my rating to 5 stars. Thanks for the recipe! Edited to add: I made this again and added 1 egg (3 eggs total) and 1/8 cup of vegetable oil. Much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Easy to make. I made a 9"x13" cake and it tested done but when I cut it open, it was sort of half cooked. It must have been something I did. Flavor and texture were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
This is the best yellow cake ever. I looked at the reviews before I made it and saw one that mentioned using an extra egg to make it moist. I love a moist cake and used 3 eggs instead of 2. It didn't last 1 whole day. Dessert after dinner in lunches the next day and not enough for everyone to share the 2nd night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
Great cake. I followed the other reviewer's suggestion and added 3 eggs instead of two. I used this recipe to make cookies n cream cupcakes. I reduced the flour to 2 1/4 and added about 10 crushed oreos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
I love this recipe! I add other flavorings instead of vanilla extract and it's a huge hit! Today I'm making pina colada flavor with white fondant and pina colada flavored decorations
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Very moist cake. We used homemade buttercream frosting, it was so much better than the box, just as easy and definitely worth the calories!!! We're going to use this recipe for a baby shower cake this week-end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States