Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
This is an exellent alternative to a box mix! Its simple to make, looks a beautiful golden brown color when done. The taste isnt out of this world, but still pretty good as is, and is really moist. It has a dense texture, while still feeling fairly light to eat. I made into a 9x9 square cake, and 12 cupcakes. Topped with a Nutella buttercream. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Nicole Patton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I tried this recipe for the first time. It came out alright but more like a bread or scone. Very thick, not moist or spongy like cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Very buttery! Nice, moist texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
no rating Frisbies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Essex Junction, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
I used it once and everyone loved it. this is as easy as easy could get and I already had everything I needed in the house to make it. I will be using it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina M

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
I tried making this cake and It wasn't what I had expected. It was dry and Didn't have a very good flavor I'll never make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Banning, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
Perfect, no changes needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robcangel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
I've made this many times, best yellow cake recipe I have ever found. I think using sifted cake flour gives the best result.. I hate sifting flour but it definitely makes a difference! Moist and fluffy cake, just how I like it! The most recent time I made this I added 1.5 tsp of vanilla (3.5 tsp total) to get a strong vanilla flavor. I like a strong vanilla flavor in my cakes, so this was the perfect amount. I made cupcakes, a full recipe makes 24 cupcakes, I baked for 27 minutes at 350, but I think my oven is not quite right, so this time may not work for everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
Awesome cake...I was craving cake and realized I didn't have any mixes so I searched for a recipe online and came across this one. I just made it and it came out great, I don't know what other reviewers are talking about it being heavy and/or dry. Mine came out perfect. I added some coconut to the batter and I'm going to frost it with coconut frosting. I'll never buy another yellow cake mix again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
I did NOT like this recipe. I tried it out for a friends birthday cake and was sorely disappointed. I will never use it again. The flavor was off, it tasted more like a dry pound cake then a moist yellow cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McKennacat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paw Paw, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States