Scottish Shortbread IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2004
This is the way it should be! I even halved the recipe and it worked out well! Some of the other shortbread recipes on here are too dense or too floury. I shaped these in balls and flattened adn tehn pricked with fork....YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2003
Don't even think about making a shortbread recipe with white sugar! You'll be missing out on too much! This recipe is so easy, and so amazingly flavorful, I highly doubt you'll bother ever making another recipe again. This recipe is very flexible. Here is how I make it, and the kind of variations it can handle. I will use regular flour, whole wheat flour, organic flours, etc. They all work great. The butter needs to be SOFTENED, not MELTED. keep this in mind, please! If you need to soften butter in a hurry, cut the cubes into 5 pats apiece. Arrange them in a ring on a dinner plate, (none in the middle!) and place them in the microwave. If you have power percentage control, put it on 10% and give it 30 seconds or so. Repeat, testing until it is perfect. Dont leave the microwave. Yes, it'll take a few minutes, but it's better than finding a time machine so you can leave the butter out to soften this morning. If you don't have percentage control, cook the pats on high power for 4 or 5 seconds at a time, waiting about 20 seconds inbetween heatings. This is very important, so you don't end up with melted butter. Cream with the brown sugar, then add the cups of flour (I just use 4, I find it makes the cookies nice and tender!) and mix well. I don't knead the dough, I don't roll it out. I grab golf-ball size balls, place them on the sheet, and put a thumb-print in the middle. that's it! Cook them for the suggested time, no more, and you'll have fantastic melt-in-your-mouth shortbrea
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
668 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sy Chandell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bandon, Oregon, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2003
These are the best shortbread I have ever made! Similar to the taste of shortbread cookies from Big Island Candies in Hawaii. For an extra treat I melted chocolate chips in a double boiler and dipped half the cookie into it, placed it on saran wrap and put it into the fridge to cool. Once the chocolate has hardened they can be packaged and given away as gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2003
Wonderful recipe! Super quick. I've got a powerful mixer so I added all the flour and let it do the kneading. Then I scooped out cookie balls and pressed them down with a flat bottomed glass dipped in white sugar. Baked per directions. Wonderful for tea time!! Thanks~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2003
Just finished this recipe. First time cookie baker, never made any before. Very very good. Only change I made was to follow ITERIB's method of using a glass in sugar to flatten balls of dough instead of rolling out and cutting. Everyone here likes them very much tho the last batch is still in oven. Cooking time was right at 20 minutes. Thank you Linda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2003
WOW!! I made mine into sandwich cookies with apricot preserves and seedless raspberry jam. They taste just like the fruit galettes from Harry and David. The secret is definitely in the brown sugar. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2004
This recipe for shortbread was excellent. I also took another reviewer's idea and dipped the cookies in melted chocolate. The family went nuts! They LOVED these cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2004
I used this cookie for gift tins at Christmas, and am still getting requests for the recipe! Be sure you don't overbake, and just for a pretty effect, I sprinkle granulated sugar on the top before baking. Wonderful cookie and very easy to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2004
This was amazing shortbread. It really came out tasting just like the real thing and was very simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2004
This recipe was simple and delicious. I practically had to fight off the other people in my house when these came out of the oven. They also go well with a simple powdered sugar icing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 418) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States