Scottish Shortbread IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Excellent, the kids love them and they are really tasty... I play around with ingredient amounts and have dipped them in chocolate , which is fantastic :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I, surprisingly, liked white sugar ones better than brown. I cream & add the flour, press into a jelly roll pan. 350,10 minutes; 300,40 minutes. Score after 2 minutes. Cool in pan. A little dark chocolate on one side is yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Great Recipe as written but I got snowed in today and found that I didn't have quite enough flour/brown sugar so here is what I did. 2C salted butter, 1/2 c dark brown sugar, 1/2 c. icing Sugar, (throw these into my mini chopper for a couple of minutes to process finely), 3 1/2 c. flour & 3/4 c. cornstarch (pre-sift these 2 together). I always use my Mix Master Beaters to make this.. I whip the butter on high for 3 - 5 min, then add the sugar and continue whipping until combined and then gradually add the flour/cornstarch mix. Spread into pans lined with parchment paper about 1/4 inch thick, press firmly into pan, prick with fork and bake for aprox. 20 min. or until edges are turning brown. Cut as desired and allow to cool in pan. Today, I was making them purposely to use in a couple of other dessert I am going to be concocting. I am supposed to be saving them to be brushed with Irish Cream and/or Kahlua for these desserts however, I have devoured almost 1/2 of them already before I got them to the container. LOL.. they are very decadent and addicting dipped in Irish Cream and my teenage son is currently devouring the other 1/2 and is dipping them in Eggnog!! Needless to say.. we're both enjoying being snowed in today! Have a wonderful, safe holiday season & thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dreamz4MyAngel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Tried this recipe but gluten free and it was delicious !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I made three different shortbread recipes tonight and this one was the standout!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
These are delicious! So easy to make. The first time I made them, I just used a knife to cut them into rectangles. Well, I clearly can't cut a straight line... tasted great, but weren't too pretty. Today I used a square cookie cutter, then pricked the top of each cookie with a fork. Much better looking. Pretty enough for gifts during the holidays. I was able to knead, roll the leftover dough and keep using the cookie cutter until the dough was gone. They took 25 minutes to bake in my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTINE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Encinitas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I've been making this recipe going on three years and I LOVE it.... Decided to dip them in melted chocolate this year, and poof! I got the video in my email today... love it. Very easy to make. I've been baking them as a single sheet by just spreading the dough out in the cookie pan, then cutting cookies out of that afterwards with a pizza cutter. After seeing the vid, I'm going to try cutting out the cookies before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
I love shortbread and thought this recipe was great. I appreciate the dough's flexibility in preparation: you can press it into a 13x9 pan, make cut outs, I rolled it into logs and sliced round cookies, you get the idea. The brown sugar gives it s bit of a different flavor, too. I will definitely be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
My grandfather was a baker in Scotland before coming to the United States. He taught me this: to get the right texture (those litte crumbly layers) and "crunch" you need to replace 1/3 of the flour with rice flour. Cornstarch can be substitued. Traditionally, white (castor/superfine) sugar is used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
THANK-YOU THANK-YOU THANK-YOU! This is the identical recipe I used as a child learning to bake. My Mom and I would make these before thanksgiving and put them in a tin to age in time for perfection at Christmas!! I am so pleased to have found the recipe! People looked at me like I was from space when I would ask for a shortbread recipe made with brown sugar, butter and flour! The aging ( if you can resist) really makes them 6 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 422) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States