Scottish Shortbread IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I really enjoyed these cookies. So easy to make! I found that after I creamed the butter and sugar and added the recommended amount of flour, it was just not holding together well enough to roll out. I added slightly more than the recommended amount of flour with no success. I became concerned about making the cookies too floury so I did what another reviewer did. I made them into small balls and pressed them flat with a glass (to the half inch thickness recommeded or slighlty thinner). I then pricked the cookies with a fork and sprinkled some granulated sugar on top. They didn't LOOK like traditional shortbread cookies but they tasted that way. They were a huge hit with everyone who tried them. (The recipe yielded so many cookies that I had a lot of taste testers:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
This shortbread was absolutely wonderful. This took no time at all to make considering there are only three ingredients. My husband is english(we all know Scottish vs English. lol..) and he fell in love with these melt in your mouth shortbreads. Thank you so much for the recipe. I cook for over a hundred people for wednesday suppers at church and plan to make these for dessert for my next dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
My mother makes the best Scottish shortbread ever! That was until I made this recipe today. I would never have thought of using brown sugar but I'm glad I did. Thank you for this recipe as I silently sit and devour my third shortbread! And I just finished making them before school gets out so I still have time to hide them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I added a little salt, and didn't roll out the cookies. I made the dough into a block and sliced it. They are easy and fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Amazing, tastes great. I followed other peoples advice and with held 1/4 cup of the flour. Super easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Absolutely perfect as written! They remind me of my Gran's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by raiden's grandma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palm Bay, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
This shortbread is ridiculous. I followed the directions and got something very, very special in return. This one goes in the Drawer of Well Loved Recipes (messy drawer in my kitchen).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlessandraM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Great and so easy to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
I used 1cup rice flour and 3cups all purpose in leached flour. I added a tsp vanilla. I rolled out the dough without a lot of kneading and cut simple shapes. On some I sprinkled coarse brown sugar. Next time I will add a half cup more brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
I tried a half recipe without other changes. The cookies are tender, just buttery enough, just sweet enough. The taste is delicate. They look lovely. I don't like a lot of crunch in a shortbread cookie and the texture of these is spot on. I intend to use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 413) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States