Scottish Shortbread IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2003
Don't even think about making a shortbread recipe with white sugar! You'll be missing out on too much! This recipe is so easy, and so amazingly flavorful, I highly doubt you'll bother ever making another recipe again. This recipe is very flexible. Here is how I make it, and the kind of variations it can handle. I will use regular flour, whole wheat flour, organic flours, etc. They all work great. The butter needs to be SOFTENED, not MELTED. keep this in mind, please! If you need to soften butter in a hurry, cut the cubes into 5 pats apiece. Arrange them in a ring on a dinner plate, (none in the middle!) and place them in the microwave. If you have power percentage control, put it on 10% and give it 30 seconds or so. Repeat, testing until it is perfect. Dont leave the microwave. Yes, it'll take a few minutes, but it's better than finding a time machine so you can leave the butter out to soften this morning. If you don't have percentage control, cook the pats on high power for 4 or 5 seconds at a time, waiting about 20 seconds inbetween heatings. This is very important, so you don't end up with melted butter. Cream with the brown sugar, then add the cups of flour (I just use 4, I find it makes the cookies nice and tender!) and mix well. I don't knead the dough, I don't roll it out. I grab golf-ball size balls, place them on the sheet, and put a thumb-print in the middle. that's it! Cook them for the suggested time, no more, and you'll have fantastic melt-in-your-mouth shortbrea
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
675 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sy Chandell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bandon, Oregon, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
This recipe really wasn't very nice. Yes it was simple to make and the ingredients were all easily at hand- but the result was a very bland biscuit. After reading the other reviews, I had thought that this recipe would yield a better result. But this biscuit lacks both flavour and the texture of a true shortbread; and it leaves a dry feeling in ones mouth after eating. I believe that it is misleading to name this biscuit a shortbread- it definitely lacks the true characteristics of a melt in the mouth, buttery shortbread. This is not a dreadful biscuit, but it is not tasty or exceptional. Defintely not a treat you'd serve to guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
456 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
I have tried many, many shortbread recipes for the past 41 years in my quest for the "perfect" shortbread - and this is it. I didnt' roll it out but made it into bars - I used 1-8x8" cake pan and one pie plate so they'd be nice and thick. It's even husband approved!!! And he's a very tough cookie to please. Thank you so much!!! Now, I just have to find a butterscotch pie like my mother-in-law used to make and I'm done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
363 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
I found this recipe too heavy & floury as written. BUT when I started with cold butter cut it up into pats. Mixed it & the sugar on high until it became fluffy (5 mins on high). AND if I used 4 C flour exactly and no kneading, & chilled the dough prior to shaping, the texture and flavor improved a great deal. It changed it from very heavy & doughy tasting to light & buttery & crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
261 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TerriK1129

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2005
WOWOWOWOW!!! I resisted the VERY strong urge to tinker with the recipe and I am so glad that I did. First of all I softened the butter, then creamed the sugar and butter together. Then, I used 4 cups of flour, which I added a little bit at a time. I then used my cookie scooper and placed the balls on a cookie sheet lined with Release. I then sprinkled the tops with granulated sugar and then pressed the bottom of a glass down on the cookies. These did not expand much at all so you can really load your cookie sheet up. These turned out delicious (and pretty)! Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
212 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
WOW!..a moment of silence please..1.So you can hear the sound from my expanding thighs :) 2.For the absolute perfection of this cookie! My quest is over for the best shortbread cookie recipe, Thank You Linda! I will never by the famous shortbread cookies from the stores again! I just finished making a batch of these and the only changes I made were to add a tablespoon of vanilla, a pinch of salt and used the dough hook on my stand mixture to "knead" the dough. I also used powdered sugar instead of flour to roll the dough out. I sprinkled the tops of the cookies with sparkling white sugar (press into the dough) & then pricked with a large salad fork. If you love shortbread this is definately the cookie to make, it will now remain in my recipe file for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
193 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
How can 3 simple ingredients send one to heaven? That's the bliss of this shortbread. No need to make cookies, tho. I pat it into a 9x9 or 13x9 (for thin cookies) pan and prick with a fork. Dust with powdered sugar when still warm, and they melt in your mouth even better than granulated sugar. Don't forget the vanilla (bourbon ONLY) and 1/2 tsp salt. The salt lifts the sweetness. These last about 15 minutes in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
Authentic shortbread taste. Sooo much better than what you find in stores. I made mine entirely by hand (no mixers here), and didn't have a rolling pin or anything, so I let the dough sit in the fridge for about 15 minutes, then rolled it into balls, flattened them with my palm, and did the fork punches. Cooked them for about 18 minutes and the outcome? Super tasty. If a college guy like me can do it, anyone can. Inexpensive and easy recipe. I highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
This shortbread is very yummy! But, beware of baking time. Mine were done well before the bake time in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
I am new to cooking, but love this website. I find it so helpful to read the reviews as I am able to get the best out of a recipe. On this recipe I used 3 & 3/4 cup of flour. Next time I would increase that amount because while the taste of the shortbread was absolutely fabulous, the shortbread did spread. Also, when I kneaded the dough, I used 1/2 flour and 1/2 confectioners sugar on the board. This gives it a much sweeter taste. I took it to a party tonight, and it was a BIG hit. I even got asked for the recipe. Not a single piece left, but thank goodness I kept 3 pieces at home to have with my tea. Also, I cooked it in 2 batches. The first batch turned out perfect at 25 minutes. The second batch was a little overdone at 25 minutes. I realize I would rather have them underdone than over done. Brown does not work on shortbread for all you novices out there like me. Cheers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherman Oaks, California, USA
Living In: Studio City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 427) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States