Scottish Shortbread IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2000
These cookies are delicious!!!!!!!!!! They are so buttery and just melt in your mouth. But with real butter, how can you go wrong?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2001
This is how I remember true shortbread cookies are supposed to taste! Delicious! And very quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2001
These are very good. And although I despise rolling out dough, I will take the time to make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2003
Don't even think about making a shortbread recipe with white sugar! You'll be missing out on too much! This recipe is so easy, and so amazingly flavorful, I highly doubt you'll bother ever making another recipe again. This recipe is very flexible. Here is how I make it, and the kind of variations it can handle. I will use regular flour, whole wheat flour, organic flours, etc. They all work great. The butter needs to be SOFTENED, not MELTED. keep this in mind, please! If you need to soften butter in a hurry, cut the cubes into 5 pats apiece. Arrange them in a ring on a dinner plate, (none in the middle!) and place them in the microwave. If you have power percentage control, put it on 10% and give it 30 seconds or so. Repeat, testing until it is perfect. Dont leave the microwave. Yes, it'll take a few minutes, but it's better than finding a time machine so you can leave the butter out to soften this morning. If you don't have percentage control, cook the pats on high power for 4 or 5 seconds at a time, waiting about 20 seconds inbetween heatings. This is very important, so you don't end up with melted butter. Cream with the brown sugar, then add the cups of flour (I just use 4, I find it makes the cookies nice and tender!) and mix well. I don't knead the dough, I don't roll it out. I grab golf-ball size balls, place them on the sheet, and put a thumb-print in the middle. that's it! Cook them for the suggested time, no more, and you'll have fantastic melt-in-your-mouth shortbrea
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
674 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sy Chandell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bandon, Oregon, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2003
These are the best shortbread I have ever made! Similar to the taste of shortbread cookies from Big Island Candies in Hawaii. For an extra treat I melted chocolate chips in a double boiler and dipped half the cookie into it, placed it on saran wrap and put it into the fridge to cool. Once the chocolate has hardened they can be packaged and given away as gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2003
Wonderful recipe! Super quick. I've got a powerful mixer so I added all the flour and let it do the kneading. Then I scooped out cookie balls and pressed them down with a flat bottomed glass dipped in white sugar. Baked per directions. Wonderful for tea time!! Thanks~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2003
Very good but they're crispier than my family likes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Loane-Archibald

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2003
Just finished this recipe. First time cookie baker, never made any before. Very very good. Only change I made was to follow ITERIB's method of using a glass in sugar to flatten balls of dough instead of rolling out and cutting. Everyone here likes them very much tho the last batch is still in oven. Cooking time was right at 20 minutes. Thank you Linda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2003
WOW!! I made mine into sandwich cookies with apricot preserves and seedless raspberry jam. They taste just like the fruit galettes from Harry and David. The secret is definitely in the brown sugar. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2004
This recipe for shortbread was excellent. I also took another reviewer's idea and dipped the cookies in melted chocolate. The family went nuts! They LOVED these cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 426) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States