Scottish Shortbread IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Love this recipe! So simple! I actually didn't knead the dough, and just put it in the fridge so it wouldn't be sticky. Then I rolled it out and did cookie cutouts with the dough. If you try to eat them when they are still warm, they will be dry and sandy. Wait until they are cool! It's a crunchy, crumbly, buttery cookie. Great with tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
The recipe is simple. I think there may have been an error. I made a second batch thinking I got it wrong but there was simply not enough sugar. The brown sugar added a flavor that just didn't work but this may simply be a matter of opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Very simple, very cost effective, very good timing as I needed a quick sweets recipe for quick gifts for a bunch of people and no time to go to the grocery and had everything I needed already on hand. When mixed just right and baked for just the right amount of time they are very buttery and crispy. I do suggest refrigerating for a short amount of time to help the dough stiffen a little before rolling out and cutting into shape to safeguard against spreading. Just remember to wrap tightly so no moisture is lost. Also stole one reviewer's suggestion to add confectioner's sugar to the flour when kneading. It does add nice extra touch of sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manassas, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
These cookies were perfect! We cut them into heart shapes and dipped half of the cookie into melted chocolate (and some sprinkles for Valentine's Day last year). Everyone loved them. Easy, looks pretty, tastes yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Koren

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
My husband loves sugar cookies and shortbread and I am always trying new sugar cookie recipes for him. He loved these! The amount of butter is ridiculous so they will only be for special occasions! We rolled them out and used cookie cutters. I used dark brown sugar and they turned brown versus the gold of shortbread, so if you want that look use light brown sugar. And you definitely need to chill the dough prior to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
I've tried this once. The butter and sugar were far too much and I had to bake one batch (I made one, which yielded more than the stated 24 servings) for 45 minutes and another (to which I added slightly more flour) for 35. I liked the simplicity of the recipe and the fact that it uses everyday ingredients. In future I'll cut the butter and sugar by 1/4 (and won't pack in the sugar). PS I swapped one cup of flour with unsifted flour and I think I'll swap 2 or 3 cups in the future, not only for better health but to improve taste and texture as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I was very skeptical since this was such an easy recipe....but these cookies were great. Added vanilla to the recipe and dipped the finished cookie half in melted chocolate.....looked nice. One note, these do not freeze well....they will taste all right but nothing like when you first make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Melts in your mouth- truly. I found the cooking time a little short- probably because my oven runs a little cool and the tray was in the lower half of the oven- use the 'bounce back' test by pressing the middle of the biscuit and seeing that's it's soft but firm enough to bounce back. I did add a little vanilla but now I regret not adding a little salt. Nevertheless, this is a simple recipe and the results are just lush - really buttery and yum...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Simple, easy, and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scalawag

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Not only is this a perfectly rich, simple cookie, but it's also excellent to use with cutters, as it does not spread at all and keeps beautiful crisp edges-especially if rolled out a little thinner than recommended. Not overly sweet, they actually taste better if kept for a day or two, and are wonderful with tea or cocoa. I dipped some in chocolate, and the kids devoured them, but I preferred them plain myself. I will never make a different shortbread, except maybe to add flavors to this one, it's that yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MornDew247

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 417) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States