Scottish Shortbread IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Delicious and amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Goshen, Indiana, USA
Living In: Elkhart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
Followed recipe and my cookies turned out a tad too crumbly. They had wonderful flavor, not too buttery. Best part, they were a breeze to whip it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy J.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
I only had one cup wheat flour, and two cups white in the house. I had to just pat it out, as it ended up too soft to roll. I mixed with a dough hook in my mixer instead of kneading it. They turned out very nice. They did get soft after a while of sitting out, but I'm not sure if that was because of the flour... they were wonderful right after cooling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
Make sure you use salted butter! And feel comfortable adding a little extra. The salt will bring out the sweetness of your sugar. This recipe was wonderful. If you have to use two pans, expect the cook time to be just a few minutes extra due to decreased air circulation. I personally used my kitchen aid mixer to do all the labor, and I did not knead anything. Easy easy easy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kenunn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2012
I doubt that I did anything wrong (I mean, with a recipe this simple, that would take some doing), but I don't know why everyone is raving about this recipe - pretty much the only thing I can taste is flour. There is definitely not enough sugar (I think the recipe could do with twice as much), and all-around these taste NOTHING like store-bought shortbread cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
This was my first attempt to make a shortbread, and it turned out beautifully! I halved the recipe, followed instructions, and brought the ready cookies to my Scottish dance club as a prize for a raffle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Excellent! No changes, just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
Super simple, no frills taste. Can also be made in a round cake pan or pie plate. Just bake til browning on edges and done in middle for extra simplicity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
Good basic shortbread. Easy to cut or double the recipe. This is definitely one of my guilty pleasures.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Hi should have read Sy Chandell's review before making this recipe. I made the mistake of melting the butter, rather than softening the butter. It made a very crumbly dough that was difficult to roll out and when cooked didn't taste as good as I was hoping. I am a fan of Scottish shortbread, so I think I'll try this again sometime using softened butter instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 429) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States