Scottish Shortbread IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 31, 2012
I only had one cup wheat flour, and two cups white in the house. I had to just pat it out, as it ended up too soft to roll. I mixed with a dough hook in my mixer instead of kneading it. They turned out very nice. They did get soft after a while of sitting out, but I'm not sure if that was because of the flour... they were wonderful right after cooling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
Make sure you use salted butter! And feel comfortable adding a little extra. The salt will bring out the sweetness of your sugar. This recipe was wonderful. If you have to use two pans, expect the cook time to be just a few minutes extra due to decreased air circulation. I personally used my kitchen aid mixer to do all the labor, and I did not knead anything. Easy easy easy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kenunn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2012
I doubt that I did anything wrong (I mean, with a recipe this simple, that would take some doing), but I don't know why everyone is raving about this recipe - pretty much the only thing I can taste is flour. There is definitely not enough sugar (I think the recipe could do with twice as much), and all-around these taste NOTHING like store-bought shortbread cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
This was my first attempt to make a shortbread, and it turned out beautifully! I halved the recipe, followed instructions, and brought the ready cookies to my Scottish dance club as a prize for a raffle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Excellent! No changes, just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
Super simple, no frills taste. Can also be made in a round cake pan or pie plate. Just bake til browning on edges and done in middle for extra simplicity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
Good basic shortbread. Easy to cut or double the recipe. This is definitely one of my guilty pleasures.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Hi should have read Sy Chandell's review before making this recipe. I made the mistake of melting the butter, rather than softening the butter. It made a very crumbly dough that was difficult to roll out and when cooked didn't taste as good as I was hoping. I am a fan of Scottish shortbread, so I think I'll try this again sometime using softened butter instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
I took the advice of two other reviewers and used cold butter and chilled dough for about 15min in freezer prior to baking (except I kneaded dough for about a minute just to incorporate ingredients together). After baking, and while still hot, I sifted powdered sugar over as another reviewer suggested...that made the recipe go from good to great! Ono!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
The recipe was ok but i felt that a few things need to be updated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 417) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States