Scottish Shortbread IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
I must say, when I'm craving short bread cookies yours come to mind. it's easy with only 3 ingredents, easy to make and always comes out perfect. It sort of has a nutty taste with the butter and brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adella

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
This recipe is delish!! I used other people's recommendations and used 4 cups of flour, 1 tsp of vanilla, 1/4 tsp salt.Perfect texture - my mother in law said they tasted just like Walker's shortbread. Definitely adding to my recipe binder... Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
Amazing, delicious! I chilled the dough as was suggested, but it was still very very crumbly. I pressed it into a pan and then sliced it up before cooking, and 10 minutes after cooking. I don't know if they get better with time because they didn't last long around here. I'd give 5 stars, but the dough was very crumbly and I coulnd't roll it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
My family really enjoyed this recipe and it was fun to make since it was hands on compared to the "drop" cookies I usually make. I think its only fair to state though for people just starting out that this cookie does not get firm in the oven. It will firm up as it cools but in the oven it still feels "raw" even when burnt to a dark chocolate brown thanks to the hubby distracting you and making you forget about the last tray. lol. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: York, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Valdosta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Delicious and amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Goshen, Indiana, USA
Living In: Elkhart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
Followed recipe and my cookies turned out a tad too crumbly. They had wonderful flavor, not too buttery. Best part, they were a breeze to whip it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy J.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
I only had one cup wheat flour, and two cups white in the house. I had to just pat it out, as it ended up too soft to roll. I mixed with a dough hook in my mixer instead of kneading it. They turned out very nice. They did get soft after a while of sitting out, but I'm not sure if that was because of the flour... they were wonderful right after cooling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
Make sure you use salted butter! And feel comfortable adding a little extra. The salt will bring out the sweetness of your sugar. This recipe was wonderful. If you have to use two pans, expect the cook time to be just a few minutes extra due to decreased air circulation. I personally used my kitchen aid mixer to do all the labor, and I did not knead anything. Easy easy easy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kenunn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2012
I doubt that I did anything wrong (I mean, with a recipe this simple, that would take some doing), but I don't know why everyone is raving about this recipe - pretty much the only thing I can taste is flour. There is definitely not enough sugar (I think the recipe could do with twice as much), and all-around these taste NOTHING like store-bought shortbread cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
This was my first attempt to make a shortbread, and it turned out beautifully! I halved the recipe, followed instructions, and brought the ready cookies to my Scottish dance club as a prize for a raffle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 413) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States