Scottish Shortbread IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Tried this recipe but gluten free and it was delicious !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I made three different shortbread recipes tonight and this one was the standout!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
These are delicious! So easy to make. The first time I made them, I just used a knife to cut them into rectangles. Well, I clearly can't cut a straight line... tasted great, but weren't too pretty. Today I used a square cookie cutter, then pricked the top of each cookie with a fork. Much better looking. Pretty enough for gifts during the holidays. I was able to knead, roll the leftover dough and keep using the cookie cutter until the dough was gone. They took 25 minutes to bake in my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTINE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Encinitas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I've been making this recipe going on three years and I LOVE it.... Decided to dip them in melted chocolate this year, and poof! I got the video in my email today... love it. Very easy to make. I've been baking them as a single sheet by just spreading the dough out in the cookie pan, then cutting cookies out of that afterwards with a pizza cutter. After seeing the vid, I'm going to try cutting out the cookies before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
I love shortbread and thought this recipe was great. I appreciate the dough's flexibility in preparation: you can press it into a 13x9 pan, make cut outs, I rolled it into logs and sliced round cookies, you get the idea. The brown sugar gives it s bit of a different flavor, too. I will definitely be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
My grandfather was a baker in Scotland before coming to the United States. He taught me this: to get the right texture (those litte crumbly layers) and "crunch" you need to replace 1/3 of the flour with rice flour. Cornstarch can be substitued. Traditionally, white (castor/superfine) sugar is used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
THANK-YOU THANK-YOU THANK-YOU! This is the identical recipe I used as a child learning to bake. My Mom and I would make these before thanksgiving and put them in a tin to age in time for perfection at Christmas!! I am so pleased to have found the recipe! People looked at me like I was from space when I would ask for a shortbread recipe made with brown sugar, butter and flour! The aging ( if you can resist) really makes them 6 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
I made this recipe for Thanksgiving and the family loved it. A guest even said it's better than store bought. It's easy and delicious. A winner for sure and the recipe will be shared with my children.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari Stacy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
These cookies are phenomenal especially when they are frosted with the powdered sugar glaze. I'll be keeping this recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ree13
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Wonderful recipe! Halved the ingredients, used light brown sugar, added 1/8 tsp salt and 1/2 tsp vanilla paste. Baked only 20 minutes and it came out crumbly and perfect with tea. Will definitely bake again. Maybe I'll even stick to the original next time. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ree13

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 429) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States