Scottish Shortbread IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
This was a simple yet lovely shortbread recipe. YUMMY!!!!! I did add a little vanilla & a few drops of lemon extract because am serving them with lemon sherbet. The color is beautiful, very tender, melt in your mouth. Will bake again - soon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Watch out for unclear instructions! I didn't read closely enough, and as a result I added the entire 4.5 cups of flour into the mix. The result was not pretty - very powdery and definitely not a dough. That's when I realized my mistake. To fix it, I creamed together another cup of butter and half cup of brown sugar, and added another half tbsp of vanilla extract (in addition the 1tbsp I put in to begin with) as well as another pinch of salt. Then I continued to incorporate additional flour as needed during the kneading stage. The end result: These things are amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
I just tried this recipe today. Altough it is good it is a little bland and missing flavor, also the texture does not resemble a shortbread cookie.I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
Fabulous! Can't mess it up. Tips: chill 1hr+ before baking add 1tsp vanilla to brown sugar before mixing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
I don't know what I did wrong with these cookies! I swear I'v used this recipe before. My dough was soooooo crumbly! like impossible to roll out crumbly! mine are in the oven now, they look so messy and ugly. hoping they tast better then they look!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I added a dash of vanilla, salt and white sugar. Easy recipe, but if you add few of the extras it comes out tasty! Hardest part was kneading it and rolling it out, falls apart really easy and sticks to the rolling pin, had to add more flour very delicate process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChefCharlotte
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
We absolutely LOVE this recipe. Before you eat, you may want to grab a glass of cold water. These are delicious, but are very dry. (not a problem) You can shape them using cookie cutters which we found worked VERY well. It is very simple to make… you will probably have the ingredients sitting in your kitchen already! Especially if you like to cook often. Note: I am a child writing this review, and as everyone knows, children love sweets. Well, most children. But my mom loved it too. We made these for Christmas and therefore changed the recipe to 12 servings because we won't be serving 24 people. CharlotteChef, (ME) recommends www.allrecipes.com - and says to make it a habit to come here for all of your food directions. Thanks for reading our review!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Excellent, the kids love them and they are really tasty... I play around with ingredient amounts and have dipped them in chocolate , which is fantastic :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I, surprisingly, liked white sugar ones better than brown. I cream & add the flour, press into a jelly roll pan. 350,10 minutes; 300,40 minutes. Score after 2 minutes. Cool in pan. A little dark chocolate on one side is yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Great Recipe as written but I got snowed in today and found that I didn't have quite enough flour/brown sugar so here is what I did. 2C salted butter, 1/2 c dark brown sugar, 1/2 c. icing Sugar, (throw these into my mini chopper for a couple of minutes to process finely), 3 1/2 c. flour & 3/4 c. cornstarch (pre-sift these 2 together). I always use my Mix Master Beaters to make this.. I whip the butter on high for 3 - 5 min, then add the sugar and continue whipping until combined and then gradually add the flour/cornstarch mix. Spread into pans lined with parchment paper about 1/4 inch thick, press firmly into pan, prick with fork and bake for aprox. 20 min. or until edges are turning brown. Cut as desired and allow to cool in pan. Today, I was making them purposely to use in a couple of other dessert I am going to be concocting. I am supposed to be saving them to be brushed with Irish Cream and/or Kahlua for these desserts however, I have devoured almost 1/2 of them already before I got them to the container. LOL.. they are very decadent and addicting dipped in Irish Cream and my teenage son is currently devouring the other 1/2 and is dipping them in Eggnog!! Needless to say.. we're both enjoying being snowed in today! Have a wonderful, safe holiday season & thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dreamz4MyAngel

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 429) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States