Scottish Shortbread IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
Perhaps I dont know what a shortbread is supposed to taste like, but this was bland. First thought after first bite,"4.5 cups of flour may be too much flour."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Too sweet, and needs some salt and vanilla. Easy, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
I've made this twice and found it to be a very forgiving and easy recipe. I make it super easy by doing 1/4 of the recipe and melting the butter in a bread pan. Then I mix everything in the same pan and bake it in that pan too. I'm surprised that people are complaining about the texture - I've had the walker's shortbread and I think this is just as good AND I even make it with whole wheat flour. I like to finish mine with a sprinkle of unsweetened coconut flakes on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
Sooooo yummy! Even my Scottish son-in-law raved! I added a pinch of salt and 1 tsp. vanilla, and my oven required 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
Decent cookie. Not a showstopper whatsoever. I didn't get the "fall apart-melt-in-mouth" results I thought I'd receive judging from the reviews. Followed the directions to a 'T' but the cookies came out soft and not as buttery as I'd have liked. I doctored a bit with some Biscoff spread but I'm going to try colder butter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
These. Cookies. Are. Amazing!!! Like others I just whipped the out of the butter and sugar, then added the flour. No kneading at all. I added just a touch of vanilla as a personal preference and rolled these out with powdered sugar. So, so yummy! These are as good, if not better, than the bakery shortbread cookies. This will definitely go into my regularly used recipe box! A must try, you wont be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Obsequies

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
Really nice, quick and easy - I added a little bit of salt. Will definitely be making these again. I made a much smaller batch and it worked out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
I made 2 batches of this, and both were great! The first I followed the recipe exactly (with the exception that I did chill both to use a mold). It came out buttery and yummy on its own, though I did fancy it up with a light sugar/lemon glaze that went well with it. The second I used some of the other reviewers suggestions and added a smidgen of vanilla & almond extracts as well as a very small pinch of salt. It took it to the next level: Heavenly! Fantastic on its own and perfect for customization, Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emmers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
This was a simple yet lovely shortbread recipe. YUMMY!!!!! I did add a little vanilla & a few drops of lemon extract because am serving them with lemon sherbet. The color is beautiful, very tender, melt in your mouth. Will bake again - soon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Watch out for unclear instructions! I didn't read closely enough, and as a result I added the entire 4.5 cups of flour into the mix. The result was not pretty - very powdery and definitely not a dough. That's when I realized my mistake. To fix it, I creamed together another cup of butter and half cup of brown sugar, and added another half tbsp of vanilla extract (in addition the 1tbsp I put in to begin with) as well as another pinch of salt. Then I continued to incorporate additional flour as needed during the kneading stage. The end result: These things are amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 417) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States