Scottish Shortbread IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I grew up with this recipe, these are the only shortbread cookies I have ever known and the only ones I will ever make, i roll mine out and cut Christmas shapes or just circles, I add colored sugar to the tops (usually green and red as I only make them at Christmaas) I am glad to see there are others out there who enjoy as I have for 30 something yers:0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I added 1/2 t salt, but really, the recipe's a 5-star without it. Love the simplicity of shortbread and this recipe's directions. My advice? Follow it. Don't get caught up in all the shortbread "hints and tips" you'll read on the 'net and in cookbooks. Just know your oven and prepare to take the cookies out up to 5 minutes earlier than the recommended bake time, if the edges start to tan and the cookies look done. Ha! Well I guess that's one "hint and tip," huh? Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NIGHTSTARRE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Excellent recipe. The only thing I did different: I did rolled the shortbread into little balls and used my thumb to flatten them somewhat. Then I sprinkled a little superfine white sugar on the tops of half of them. I couldn't stop eating them! My mother brought some to her job and her co-workers devoured them within the hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Very simple to make. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
flour was too overpowering! didn't like it at all...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joyce168
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I really enjoyed this. Light and flaky with a hint of brown sugar flavor. I might add some finely chopped pecans next time, just for my own preference, or a either use dark brown sugar or a touch of molasses. I kneaded this with the KitchenAid, switching from the paddle to the dough hook after the first addition of flour. I only needed 4 cups of flour for this. I'll make it again when I've got a spare POUND of butter handy! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Love these. I have made them for Christmas for the last 3 years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pinellas Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
This is a fantastic recipe! Very easy to make and SOOO delicious. My kids LOVED them! I altered the recipe only slightly: I used only 4C flour, added 1T vanilla, and a pinch of salt. I wanted strips that were easy and uniform so I baked them in a rectanglular springform pan for 30-35 minutes (golden brown) and cut them with a very sharp knife after they cooled for 20 minutes. Then I let them finish cooling on the pan. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
So happy that I have found this recipe again! I had lost it a few years ago. This shortbread has a great buttery taste, is easy to prepare, and keeps well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 416) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States